Meet the Parents

Hi there! Long time, no talk.  I just got back to my apartment in Minnesota about 20 minutes ago, and I’m not going to complain about the weather, but it is -1.3˚. Enough said.  I’m thawing some leftovers, so I’ll catch up on yesterday.

I saw these at Whole Foods yesterday in both Clif and Luna variety so I had to pick one up.  Now, you might wonder why I felt compelled to do so considering that I hate both white chocolate and macadamia nuts, and absolutely loathe the combination of the two.  Well, I guess I’m just funny like that.

I had this as an afternoon snack while I was “packing things up at Ari’s” (i.e. watching Gossip Girl).

img_4024

It wasn’t horrible, but like many Luna bars, was very very sweet. I don’t know if I’d buy it again, but if it turned up in my snack drawer I wouldn’t throw it out.

Around 4, amidst much drama on our block (gas leak in the sewer—> exploding car and no power) I braved the city streets to get a salad with lettuce, tuna, tomato and cucumbers, which I tossed with Annie’s Gingerly Vinaigrette.

img_4032

Last night had an unexpected twist.  There comes a point, girls and boys, when, in most relationships, the inevitable must happen: the two sets of parents must meet. That night was last night.  It was a spur-of-the-moment decision, which worked out fabulously because it was very low-key and neither of us (Ari or I) had a chance to freak out about it.  Of course, this lovely little cabernet blend helped just a teensy bit.

img_4034

Ari and I split this smiley-face cookie, which is one of his family’s traditions.

Poor little fella lost his eye!
Poor little fella lost his eye!

We worked…

Hello there!

(and played!) in the kitchen, getting ready…

img_4058

We made our reliable crowd-pleaser, Wild Mushroom Lasagna (let me know if you want this recipe and I’ll post it).

img_4060

Ari is the lasagna czar.

img_4061

We also had Firecracker Spinach Salad with Orange Sesame Dressing, spanikopita that my mom picked up, and baguette.

img_4063

Here’s a close-up of that cheesy goodness:

img_4064

The salad is definitely something I would make again.  The dressing can be as spicy as you want to make it, but the greens really cut the kick.  It would be great with grilled tofu or grilled shrimp.

img_40671

And little dessert bites.  My dad, Ari and I went back when no one else was looking… it was a bit of a carnal scene in the kitchen.

img_4068

All in all, I think everything went really well. It was a milestone kind of night: parents meet and we host our first “dinner party.” Pretty cool, huh?

This morning I got up to pack (I HATE packing, and put it off for as long as possible).  I had an apple to keep me going…

img_4073

My mom went out to Silver Moon to get breakfast goodies.  She brought me my all-time favorite, a chocolate chip brioche.

img_4074

The morning was pretty rushed (Ari’s getting ready to leave for a European tour tomorrow, and my flight ended up being earlier), but everything got done without forgetting anything major (although I did bring back a set of keys that aren’t mine).

I stocked up on magazines up the airport and ate my goat cheese, tapenade, and cucumber sandwich on olive bread (also from Silver Moon):

img_4077

Three of these guys:

img_4079

And this Spirulina Nut Butter Ball that I found at the health food store the other day.

img_4080

I will review this when I have time…

img_4082

After I de-frosted my car, scraped the windows, and re-learned how to drive, I made it back to St. Paul.  I had a bowl of Chickpea Noodle Soup from my freezer stash, although I didn’t get any noodles or chickpeas!

img_4084

And, just because, I had waffles with almond butter, honey, a banana and cinnamon. Great dinner!

img_4088

Sorry this post is a little rushed… I promise I’ll be more interesting again.  Hope you have great Saturday nights!

9 responses to “Meet the Parents

  1. i liked this post! what a fun dinner party and parent ‘meet-up’ i’m glad everything went okay!

    stay warm!

  2. phewwwwwwww! You’ve been busy! Glad the parents meeting went well- that is a stressful event (so its great that you had little time to stress about it). Love the pics of you guys prepping in the kitchen!

  3. Looks like we are kindred Luna spirits today! Totally picked this baby up today with the same rationale. Dinner looks like a grand ol time! Look at you two go!

  4. You guys are so cute with your Meet the Parents dinner party!

    Has anyone ever told you that you look like Audrey Tautou from Amelie? Gorgeous!!!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  5. I’m glad you got back safely! The smiley face cookie looks so tasty 😀

  6. Glad to hear you’re back safe and sound!

    You and Ari are so cute and I would love the recipe if you don’t mind posting it 😀

  7. I know you said you’d review it when you had time, but I’m curious! I’ve had those balls too (hur hur) – the coconut macadamia one, I think, and the PB one – I wanted them to be amazing but they weren’t, although I did stay full and happy.

  8. Pingback: Triumph in the tundra! « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

