Monday Blues and A Product Review

Yes, you love my rhymes. Er. I woke up this morning so disoriented… I was having some crazy dreams and had no idea where I was, first of all. Reality soon set in when I realized it was the first day of classes and I have quite a bit to do (book buying, supply buying, get myself on the meal plan…), and it all costs money! Bah.

Anywho, Erin reminded me that I’ve been a Slacky McSlackerface, and have a product to review!

Enter Betty Lou’s Spirulina Ginseng Nut butter Balls.

img_4080

NGREDIENTS: Almonds, Fruitrim® (Fruit Juices, Natural Grain Dextrins), Inulin (dietary fiber), Oats, Organic Brown Rice Crisp (Organic Brown Rice, Sea Salt, Organic Brown Rice Syrup), Organic Agave Syrup, Spirulina (1000 mg), Raisins, Sesame Seeds, Citrus Fiber, Rice Bran, Fo Ti Root (500 mg), Pure Vanilla, Panax Ginseng (250 mg), Eleuthero Root (250 mg), Sea Salt, Natural Almond Flavor, Mixed Tocopherols (Natural Vitamin E).

img_4082

Allergy Information: This product contains ALMONDS and SESAME SEEDS. Manufactured in a facility that processes other products which may contain Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Wheat, Dairy, Egg and Soy Ingredients.

bli_027_ball_spirgin_nt

This ball had a definite almond flavor. It was familiar and almost comforting, like marzipan. It was textured, but chewy and soft; it was fun to munch through but didn’t get stuck in my teeth. It was, however, very sweet. I’m not sure if it was too sweet; but as a [healthy] treat it was just about right. I ate this on the plane around 4, and it held me over for several hours through my commute to my grandparents’ house, to my apartment and until dinner was ready. All in all I’d say this was pretty tasty, a good use of calories, and I would buy it again. It came in some other flavors I’d love to try, if I could find them anywhere here!

Last night, my tummy was a-growlin’! I needed both sweet and substance, so I had a cup of hot chocolate with marshmallows and a navel orange. Hit the spot and put me right to bed.

img_4107

Mondays are going to be pretty easy mornings for me, since I don’t have class until 2:20. I made a huge pot of steel cut oats that’ll last me a couple more breakfasts during the week when time isn’t such a luxury.

Makes 3-4 servings

1 cup steel cut oats

2 cups water

2 cups skim milk

1 tsp salt

1 tsp flax meal

I added a sliced banana to the whole pot, then sprinkled some cinnamon, brown sugar and walnuts on top. Microwave oats are quick and convenient, but nothing beats the taste of this baby.

img_4109

I also made a pot of coffee (I missed my coffee maker!), Emergen-C, and vitamins.

img_4113

In other, very happy news, my friend Megan is engaged. She’s going to have a beautiful August wedding in Utah, and I am so excited for her! Whoopee!

Have a great Monday… kick its booty!

4 responses to “Monday Blues and A Product Review

  1. Thanks for the review! CONGRATS TO MEGAN 🙂

    I love those darn little marshmallows on the hot chocolate – best part!

  2. Thanks for review, doll! Aw, yay for your friend- that’s fantastic 🙂
    Love your breakfast babygirl! Happy Monday!

  3. Oooh, looks delish!!

    Congratulations to your friend!!

    Happy Monday, Katie!!

  4. I’ve never tried the steel cut oats, myself, but you make em look goooood!

    And you are a rhyming fool!!!

Leave a Reply

