Never Understimate the Power of the John

The Long John, that is.  I pulled on my Under Armour under my skirt today to combat the 5˚ weather, and voila! Who says style has to suffer in the cold?

My oatmeal held me through all my errands and beyond  (I’ve now driven to school and back three times).  I wasn’t entirely hungry when I ate lunch, but it was either eat at 1:30 or wait until 4.  I don’t need my stomach to grumble on the first day of class!

I made a simple salad and used my new cutting board to do the chopping.  Its lemon cuteness brightened my day!

img_4115

In here was a big handful of arugula, two roma tomatoes, some onion (too much!),  a Dr. Praeger’s California veggie burger, and a wedge of Laughing Cow Light.

img_4119

Some light sundried tomato vinaigrette for dipping:

img_4122

My psyillium supplement arrived while I was gone, so I had one for lunch.  You probably think I’m crazy for swallowing so many pills… and my iron count is low (which may be causing my fatigue) so I’ll have to add one more to the stash!

img_4123

I can finally quell my jealousy at all of your TJ’s Greek yogurt!

img_4124

I liked it a lot.  It was sweet, but not too sweet and the honey flavor was subtle and not overwhelming.  It would have been delicious with berries and nuts.

I got a lot of mail while I was gone…

img_4118

And samples of Quaker’s True Delight bars!

img_4125

Today was sort of like Christmas; Carlye brought me some chocolate from Russia. I can’t wait to try them, especially the kind that is just FOR MEN. Ha.

img_4127

The class I went to today looks like it’ll be pretty interesting.  It’s about French contemporary art in the 60s, concentrating on May 1968(What makes it particularly exciting is that the professor decided to have our Monday and Wednesday classes be 1-1/2 hours instead of 1 and no class on Friday, meaning… long weekend! Trips!)


I just had a Toasted Coconut Banana Macadamia Nut (that’s a mouthful!) True Delights bar.

img_4128


Ingredients:

WHOLE GRAIN ROLLED OATS, CORN SYRUP, MACADAMIA NUTS, CRISP RICE (RICE FLOUR, SUGAR, MALT EXTRACT, SALT), DRIED BANANAS, BROWN SUGAR, OLIGOFRUCTOSE, HONEY, DRIED COCONUT, GLYCERIN, INVERT SUGAR, SUNFLOWER OIL, COCONUT OIL, CORN SYRUP SOLIDS, FRUCTOSE.

CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF SEA SALT, SORBITOL, SUGAR, WATER, SOY LECITHIN, DEXTROSE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, CARAMEL COLOR, VANILLA EXTRACT, SALT, NATURAL MIXED TOCOPHEROLS (ANTIOXIDANT), MALTODEXTRIN, WHEY, SODIUM CASEINATE

img_4130


Nutrition Info:

Calories: 140, Fat Calories: 45

Total fat: 5g, 2g saturated

Cholesterol: 0g

Sodium: 95mg

Carbohydrates: 23g

Protein: 2g


This bar had a lot of tastes (as its name suggests) but they were all distinct and tasty.  The bananas were particularly good; they reminded me of the banana ice cream I used to love to eat in the summer in Long Island.  I’ve already expressed my distaste for macadamia nuts, but there were only a couple and they actually positively added to the texture and taste.  All in all, very good bar! I’d buy this again.

It’s so nice to be back to regular posting.  I get a little overwhelmed when I have to do a whole day’s worth of eats, and this helps structure my day and meals a little better.

Now that it’s been up for a few days, what are your thoughts about the new blog? What works and what doesn’t?  It still feels really new, and I’m just starting to get used to WordPress, so any suggestions you have for making it better would help a lot.  Thanks!

Have a great rest of the day!

9 responses to “Never Understimate the Power of the John

  1. To answer your question first- I love the new blog! Good job with it 🙂
    Your veggie burger salad looks really, really good. I love Dr. Praeger’s burgers. Have you had his sweet potato pancakes?? Mmm, delish!
    Hahah, I laughed out loud about the chocolate FOR MEN! bahaha….what’s that about?
    Have a fabulous evening!

  2. Ah – that salad looks delicious! I love your cutting board!

    If you start sporting a ‘stache you can blame the Russian chocolate 😉

    Honestly – I love your blog! I really appreciate the links you put at the top (I discovered them today)!

  3. I’m loving the new blog. 🙂

    That cutting board is adorable! I’m sure it adds a little cheer to these cold winter days.

  4. Love the new blog! I’ve seen that yogurt at Trader Joe’s but haven’t bought it yet, glad to hear it’s good.

  5. 1. I love the new blog—I TOLD YOU that wordpress is awesome. I can’t wait until the semester is over and I can go home to my KITCHEN and try all your recipes!

    2. i have low iron also and ever since i’ve started taking iron supplements i’ve noticed a 10000000% difference in my energy levels. it’s amazing.

    3. your classes always sound so interesting to me!

    4. I love having no friday class–yay long weekends!
    4a. TRIPS! TO BOSTON! DO IT!

  6. I like the new blog!

    Look at all the magazine. The Self w/ Jenna Fischer is excellent.

    I didn’t get banana from that bar. I will have to eat the other one asap and pay closer attention. 😀

  7. Pingback: Party Animal « Lilveggiepatch

  8. Pingback: Sunday Funday: Vegan treats, a product review, and no Superbowl for me! « Lilveggiepatch

  9. Pingback: The Coast Is Toast « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

