Party Animal

Whew, what a wild and crazy night! It started with this grapefruit.

img_4212

My workout was pretty terrible.  The gym was really crowded and none of the machines I wanted were free, so I did arm weights first.  When a bike was free, I just really wasn’t feeling it.  I tried reading my book, listening to a podcast- nothing.  So I didn’t exactly push myself, which is too bad, but today is another day.

Total, including weights and 35:00 bike: 54:26 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 145 (73%)

Average heart rate: 115 (58%)

Calories burned: 280

I tried one of my Quaker True Delights bars in Dark Chocolate Raspberry Almond.

img_4213

Ingredients

WHOLE GRAIN ROLLED OATS, CORN SYRUP, SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE CHUNKS (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE LIQUOR, COCOA BUTTER, DEXTROSE, SOY LECITHIN, SALT, VANILLA), CRISP RICE (RICE FLOUR, SUGAR, MALT EXTRACT, SALT), ALMONDS, BROWN SUGAR, OLIGOFRUCTOSE, HONEY, DRIED SWEETENED RASPBERRIES (DRIED RED RASPBERRIES, SUGAR), INVERT SUGAR, SUNFLOWER OIL, GLYCERIN, COCONUT OIL. CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF FREEZE DRIED RASPBERRIES, CORN SYRUP SOLIDS, FRUCTOSE, SORBITOL, WATER, SEA SALT, SOY LECITHIN, CINNAMON, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, VANILLA EXTRACT, CARAMEL COLOR, NATURAL MIXED TOCOPHEROLS (ANTIOXIDANT), MALTODEXTRIN, WHEY, SODIUM CASEINATE.

img_4214

Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 140

Total Fat: 4.5g, 1.5g saturated

Total Carbohydrate: 23g

Fiber: 3g

Protein: 2g


Like the last one, this bar had a great texture.  The texture actually reminded me a lot of Kashi chewy bars (whole nuts, fruity chunks, lots of chew).  Had a real “granola” taste like  the Nature Valley bars I used to love when I was little (I still do!).  I would sacrifice an almond for a bit more chocolate, but all in all it was very good and I would buy it if I saw it in stores.

Dinner last night was leftover Snobby Joes, with a twist (a smiling twist!).  As expected, the spices marinated and only got stronger in the fridge overnight, so I decided to serve my Joes on top of a [heart-shaped] sweet potato, garnished with a Greek yogurt face and raisin eyes.  It really cut the spice!

img_4215

I also had some delicious steamed spinach with rice wine vinegar and sesame seeds.

img_4218

And a small glass of this Vouvray.  When it’s good (i.e. not the $4 bottle from Trader Joe’s, as much as I appreciate that deal), I think this might be my favorite white.

img_42211

Joe loves you!

img_4219

Mmm, inter-departmental mail. These 100 calorie chocolate chip cookies are SO GOOD.

img_4222

So, I lied about my crazy night.  It was actually a lame-o night: I got into bed at 9 with my textbook, with my phone on the pillow so I’d hear the phone telling me it was time to p-a-r-t-y.  Well, needless to say, plate tectonics are not as interesting as I’d hoped, and I slept until midnight!

I got up, had this orange, and went right back to bed. Yeah Friday night!

img_4223

I still managed to sleep almost 12 hours, which I must have needed after so much exercise this week.  I picked up some of this coffee at Target yesterday; it’s a local company that puts their profits back into helping kids in the Twin Cities community.

img_4224

Nothing says “Saturday” like waffles.

img_4226

I had two Kashi waffles with Greek yogurt, warmed frozen berries, honey and walnuts.  Parfait.

img_4228

Time to hit the books! Have a fabulous weekend.

8 responses to “Party Animal

  1. I always look forward to your smiling eats, haha – so fun!! 🙂

    Good luck studying!!

  2. I love your breakfast- waffle parfait. Genius!
    Haha, I love your crazy Friday night. Nothing wrong with staying home with a text book. I do it quite often 🙂
    Have a fabulous Saturday, my love!

  3. I love your smily faces! 🙂

    Don’t you hate when the gym is crowded?

  4. YES WAFFLE TOWER!!!!

    and umm, did you just tell me that you made chocolate chip cookies using lime tortilla chips. WHAT?

  5. Hehe – parfait! Love your smiling snobs 🙂

    I had a wild ‘n crazy night just like you!

  6. Snobby joes on a sweet potato sounds so great–smart thinkin’ cookie!

    Have a good Saturday!

  7. Hahaha I had a real wild night last too….ummm. Beans taste super awesome with potatoes. They’re a match made in heaven! Good luck with the work!

  8. Pingback: Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

