Sunday Funday: Vegan treats, a product review, and no Superbowl for me!

Hi all. I have not been the busiest of bees since last I wrote… which means I’m sort of in “cruch time” mode and this is going to be a bit of a quickie.

I tried my last True Delights flavor today: Honey Roasted Cashew Mixed Berry.

img_4257

Ingredients

WHOLE GRAIN ROLLED OATS, DRIED SWEETENED CRANBERRIES (SUGAR, CRANBERRIES), CORN SYRUP, CRISP RICE (RICE FLOUR, SUGAR, MALT EXTRACT, SALT), INFUSED DRIED CHERRIES (RED TART CHERRIES, SUGAR, RED TART CHERRY JUICE), CASHEWS, BROWN SUGAR, HONEY, OLIGOFRUCTOSE, SUNFLOWER OIL, INVERT SUGAR, GLYCERIN, COCONUT OIL, CORN SYRUP SOLIDS. CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF FRUCTOSE, SEA SALT, SORBITOL, SUGAR, WATER, SOY LECITHIN, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, SALT, CARAMEL COLOR, VANILLA EXTRACT, MALTODEXTRIN, NATURAL MIXED TOCOPHEROLS (ANTIOXIDANT), WHEY, SODIUM CASEINATE.

img_4259

Nutrition Facts:

Calories: 140

Total Fat: 3.5g, Saturated Fat 1g

Carbohydrates: 24g, 3g Fiber

Protein: 2g

This bar was very sweet. A little salt would improve the flavor a lot, but then again I like my trail mix (this tastes very trail mix-y to me) to be both sweet and salty. It’s not as much of a pleasure to chew as the other two flavors were. Overall, the bar is still good, but I probably wouldn’t buy it myself.

Other Quaker True Delights bars I have reviewed:

Dark Chocolate Raspberry Almond

Toasted Coconut Banana Macadamia Nut

I’ve been having a bit of a love affair with Veganomicon recently. Tonight, I made my own version of Terry & Isa’s Spicy Tempeh and Broccoli Rabe With Rotelle.

Take some tempeh and cook it up with some spices…

img_4263

Add a little braised spinach

img_4264

Toss it with pasta and voila! Delicious and healthful meal.

img_4265

I don’t have time right now to type out the recipe, but if you’d like it, let me know and I’ll put it up as soon as I can.

For my “pre-dessert,” I took Sarah’s advice and had some frozen grapes. Amazing! It was like the perfect tart and sweet ice cream, but as finger food. How have I been living without this for so long? I just packed up the rest of the box and froze them, too. Yummy!

img_42701

I’ll probably have a little chocolatey something while I study a little later. And maybe some tea. With caffeine. This Patch is T-I-R-E-D.

I just started listening to a new audiobook that my dad gave me for Christmas. It’s a book called I See You Everywhere, by one of our favorite authors, Julia Glass. What do you listen to in the car?

Night night!

8 responses to “Sunday Funday: Vegan treats, a product review, and no Superbowl for me!

  1. Good luck with “crunch time!”

    I usually listen to Oprah & Friends on XM on my way to work. Other than that, it’s just plain music for me.

  2. I love frozen grapes so much! They make the best quickie snack! Good luck with all the work. I listen to music from my pod in the car 😉

  3. Loved that yellow on black banana. You have a way with colors.
    Your grandparents are the best.
    When I’m in the car, I listen to mysteries, jazz and blues, unless there’s a new Julia Glass book out.
    Can’t wait to try the frozen grapes.

  4. So glad you tried the grapes! I forgot mine when I went grocery shopping. Doh! I like to mix the red and the green…its like two “flavors!”

  5. Fabulous eats!!

    In the car = KISS FM radio 😀

  6. Yum, fabulous dinner! It sounds seriously amazing.

    I don’t drive anymore, but I used to listen to local radio stations all the time, like z100 and kc101. Now when I’m on my commute I read or listen to my ipod.

  7. Frozen grapes are the best!! The purple ones get super sweet!

    I always listen to my own mix CDs because I can’t STAND half the crap they play around there!

  8. Pingback: Serious Chocolate. « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

