Serious Chocolate.

mv5bmtyxmtkwmdmxmv5bml5banbnxkftztcwnzm5otc1mq_v1_sy400_sx600_

Hiya! Sorry about the late post; I’ve been on my feet in the kitchen confectionin’ up a storm! But more about that later… first, lunch!

There was another English department luncheon for a prospective professor (again about 18th Century poetry… and he looked just like Robert Downey, Jr.) today. The food was eh: vegetable wraps with some kind of creamy sauce and greasy vegetables. But there WERE fruit kababs, which I helped myself to four of.

img_4296

This didn’t come out so well, but that’s the inside of the wrap, in case you couldn’t tell.

img_4297

A little while later I heated up this Think Thin Chocolate Fudge bar. I hate these things.

img_4300

I heated it in the microwave to try to make it taste better. It didn’t. But the 20g of protein are so appealing…

img_4301

Step Aerobics was great today, but for some reason it felt a lot harder and I took a few more water breaks than usual. I also ran a mile afterwards; I upped the speed from 5.0 to 5.2. Baby steps!

Totals:

1 hour 19 minutes

700 calories burned

Maximum heart rate: 188 (94%)

Average heart rate: 149 (75%)

I had an apple when I got home while I got dinner ready.

img_4306

Since I didn’t really get any greens in during lunch (there was a little spinach in the wrap), I decided to give my leftover pasta a little oomf.

I started by braising some arugula in vegetable broth…

img_4308

… added half of a cooked sweet potato, and steamed them together…

img_4309

… then added the leftover pasta with a little more vegetable broth.

img_4310

Plated it with some parmesan

img_4311

This wasn’t cheesy enough for me so I mixed in a wedge of laughing cow light.

img_4312

I finished (for the time being!) with some frozen grapes.

img_4317

So, on to the baking! I’ve had my eye on Veganomicon‘s (yeah, really surprising, I know) Fudgy Wudgy Blueberry Brownies for quite some time now, and tonight was the night.

I don’t have to tell you that I licked this bowl good.

img_4319

They weren’t lying when they said they were seriously chocolatey.

img_4321

I had a small square. Seriously, seriously chocolatey. I thought about saving the crumbs to mix into ice cream… but I ate those too.

img_4331

I stumbled upon Elana’s Pantry this afternoon while I was looking for recipes for yummy vegan treats. This is yet another example of why the food blogging world is so amazing, because this recipe is INCREDIBLE and so easy! She cooks gluten-free, which is great for some of you but probably makes more than a couple of you (cough cough MOM) skeptical, but everything on her blog looks fantastic.

I made her Macadamia Caramel Clusters, only I subbed in hazelnuts because macadamia nuts and I aren’t the best of friends.

img_4323

I’d eaten so much batter and whatnot, so I wasn’t planning on having a cluster, but let’s be real.

img_4336

In the words of Miss VG, holy yum. Seriously. (I’ve been watching a lot of Grey’s Anatomy…)

I made a few of these for later with the leftover chocolate…

img_4327

I also have something cooling in the fridge that I’ll finish up tomorrow. Whatever could it be?

img_4332

I watched The Women while I fooled around in the kitchen… I love laptops. It was better than I thought it would be, and Meg Ryan is once again (after a little incident called Hurlyburly) the apple of my eye. But really, she looked better with the curly hair.

Well kiddos, I’m going to pull myself out of my chocolate haze (and this comfy chair) and get my booty to bed. Hope you’ve had a great day!

7 responses to “Serious Chocolate.

  1. mmmm look at all of your yummy creations- i can’t decide which one looks the best! I’d love to try that clusters recipe! Hope you have a good one!

  2. BEYOND LUSCIOUS EATS!!

  3. Your dinner looks really good! I also love all the chocolate creations.

  4. I love all your chocolate goodies! I’m drooling over here! Mmmmmm ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Holy chocolate batman! You rocked that kitchen hard yesterday. Those cluters are lookin scrumpdiddlyumptious if I do say so myself!

    Those v’con brownies are killer, too. I make these quite often, they never go unnoticed!

  6. Robert Downy Jr. huh?! I think I could probably get into that speech ๐Ÿ˜‰ For some reason I have always had a crush on those old actors i.e. Micheal J. Fox, Kevin Bacon…ok im stopping before you think im crazy! haha

    Hope your having a great day love! โค

  7. Love the part about “cough cough!”

    That’s funny ๐Ÿ™‚

    Elana

Leave a Reply

