Wynken, Blynken & Nod

It’s funny that I’m already in bed after having gone out… and it’s not even midnight!  When do I start getting my AARP?

Before I went to the gym today, I had an almost-face: two prunes and a date with almond butter.  Would that I could eat these all day long!

img_4414

I had a pretty good workout today to make fun for my week of slackage. No more, I say!

20:00 stairmaster

2.0 mile run @5.2 mph, .2 mile cooldown

arm machines

crunches (it was already 7:30 by then, so I thought my abs could live one more day without their usual workout)

Total time: 1:01 hours

600 calories burned

Maximum heart rate: 189 (95%)

Average heart rate: 155 (78%)

I came home and made a filling and nutritious dinner, filled with a variety of textures to make the Home Ec teachers of yore proud.

I snacked on a broccoli stem while it was cooking… do you eat these too? I love ’em!

img_4417

I decided to have a salad, since I’ve been wanting to use this dressing for awhile.  They were 2/$5 at Whole Foods last week, so I figured it was now or never.  I usually like to make my own dressing, but Annie’s dressings are so interesting!  This one did not disappoint.

img_4420

In my salad was romaine, Gliding Calm tofu, steamed broccoli and a small sweet potato.

img_4421

With a shot of broccoli water (I know, it’s weird!):

img_4422

I had the last of my Vouvray before I went out, and came back and had a Skinny Cow Cookies ‘n Cream ice cream sandwich.  I didn’t used to like ice cream sandwiches that much (except Chipwiches, for obvious reasons!), but I had a craving when I was at Target yesterday.  This was so good!

img_4424

Then I remembered the two lonely strawberries in the fridge, so I ate them too.

img_4426

Whenever I used to stay with my Granny (and she’d probably still do it if I asked!) she would tuck me in with a nursery rhyme her Nana used to tuck her in with. I thought I’d share a  little of it; maybe it’ll make you sleepy!

Wynken, Blynken and Nod one night
Sailed off in a wooden shoe,
Sailed off on a river of crystal light
Into a sea of dew.

“Where are you going and what do you wish?”
The old moon asked the three.
“We have come to fish for the herring fish
That live in the beautiful sea;
Nets of silver and gold have we!”
Said Wynken,
Blynken,
And Nod.

(Here’s the rest of it, if you’re curious.)

I have a ton to get done tomorrow, but such is the nature of Sundays.  I hope you’ve had great Saturdays!

Bonne nuit 🙂

7 responses to “Wynken, Blynken & Nod

  1. Mmmm, those chocolate covered strawberries!

  2. LOOOOOVE your pre-gym snack; and hooray for Miss GC’s tofu!!

    Good luck with your Sunday activities!!

  3. ahhh wynken, blynken, and nod, I remember that poem from when I was little too.

    Hope you get everything done that you need to today, I have a LOAD of stuff to do. so far…laundry is in the wash! woo hoo! one thing down.

  4. strongandhealthy

    Great eats! Love that pre-workout snack!

    Have a fun day!

  5. I love the broccoli stalks!! They maaaay possibly taste better than the tree part themselves 🙂

  6. i went out last night too and was having fun pre-gaming and then around 11 my friends were ready to actually go out. I was like ‘wait—you mean we’re leaving NOW? it’s my bedtime!’ i’m actually a grandma.

  7. Ialways snack on broccoli stems, sweet and crunchy and definitely tastier than what I cook. I love Winken and the dreamy illustrations. Great workout.

Leave a Reply

