Table for one, please

brick_lanepreview_18

Another holiday has come and gone… what’s next, St. Patty’s Day? Or President’s weekend, I guess, which I am fully celebrating by going home!  I celebrated tonight by iChatting with Ari while I made dinner… and we watched Golden Girls together! He actually got me into that show, believe it or not. I have a feeling cozy movie nights will be in our future next weekend…

I followed Nicole’s polenta tutorial tonight and made one of my favorites… polenta fries! I was a little impatient and didn’t wait until the polenta was fully cooled before I started slicing, so they have a more “rustic” look.

img_4673

I also baked a TJ’s salmon patty in Gliding Calm’s rub and steamed some broc.

img_4679

I dipped the polenta and broccoli in marinara sauce… mighty tasty.  I wish I’d had some of that gorgonzola sauce from the Aspen Social Club that they use for their fries.  Next time…

A couple hours later, I made a decadent treat I’ve had my eye on since Wednesday. Melissa Clark created this recipe for her husband, who can’t have dairy, soy, nut milk, etc.  I adapted this recipe:

Coconut Hot Chocolate

Serves 1

1/2 oz 73 % dark chocolate, chopped

1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa

1/2 can (15-oz size) light coconut milk

1/8 brown sugar

1/3 water

pinch salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Stir cocoa into boiling water, set aside.

2. In a small saucepan, combine coconut milk, brown sugar and salt. Simmer until sugar melts. Whisk in cocoa/water and chocolate until smooth. Stir in vanilla.

img_4681

I added some marshmallows, which de-veganized it, but added some fluff!

img_4684

I had a bowl of popcorn with nutritional yeast while I watched Brick Lane with Jalene.  I’ve had the book on my bookshelf for a few years, but haven’t read it.  I really liked the movie, though… it’s very quiet but beautifully shot.

img_4686

A year ago today, I was with my friends in Paris at Georges, the restaurant on top of the Centre Pompidou. My friend Caitlin was studying in Madrid, so she came to visit for the weekend and we all went to have drinks and dessert at this swanky restaurant where you can see the whole city. It’s hard to believe it’s been a year! Time flies.

n2230116_40949872_3599

Anyway, time for me to hit the hay. I hope everyone has had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

10 responses to “Table for one, please

  1. That food looks extremely good lol

  2. woooo! how did you like them? erica and i were impatient too so we put them in the freezer to cool haha!

  3. What a lovely night. The hot chocolate, popcorn, movie combo sounds heavenly!

    Golden Girls across the oceans…love it!

  4. nice post, good food, etc

    newman

  5. Soo many holidays, haha.

    LOVE POLENTA!!

    Fun evening!!

  6. Golden Girls haha my cousin asked for the box set of that show for Christmas!

    Yummy eats – polenta?! Delish!

  7. Aw Katie, I love that picture! I can’t believe it was a year ago, either – take me back! Nutella/Banana crepes, oh baby. Miss you and talk to you soon.
    C

  8. What an awesome and delicious night you had!

  9. Holy moly, coconut hot choc? Fabulous!

  10. aww that picture of you is too cute! It sounds like your valentines day didnt go so bad after all. ichatting and golden girls?! what more could you ask for?! haha

Leave a Reply

