Home again, home again, jiggity jig

coraline-animated-movie

Hi lovebugs! Sorry I’ve stayed away so long… posting probably won’t be so regular while I’m home, which is bittersweet… it means I’m BUSY and not holed-up somewhere! Anywho.

Yesterday I got to the airport around 5:30 with no problem. It was PACKED… I guess a lot of people start their weekends early! Minnesota is also a pretty big business hub, so people were probably heading out for some kind of work-related trip. Not me! Muahahaha.

I got to the gate way early, but didn’t see anyone else INCLUDING a gate attendant. Good thing I checked the board, because my flight was canceled! I managed to keep a clear head and get my flight switched to a different airline, but I was freaking out that I wouldn’t be able to go home. But it all worked out!

At the gate, I had a sandwich I packed: Crunch PB, mashed banana, and pumpkin.

img_4776

I almost didn’t eat this grapefruit because I didn’t want to completely humiliate myself by making a mess in public, but mess or no mess, I ate it anyway.

img_4777

I also had a bag of almonds on the plane, but I couldn’t use my camera because we had “begun our initial descent.”

Pretty much as soon as we found each other on the street, Ari and I headed over to Coldstone, which was conveniently located across the street from the movie theater. Two birds with one stone! This is why I love us.

img_4778

I’m a total Peanut Butter Perfection kind of girl, but satisfied with a bite of Ari’s I decided to try something new. They’re serving a “sinless” version of Cake Batter now, so I had a small (sorry, “Like It”) cup mixed with caramel, graham cracker crumbs, strawberries and blueberries, and told myself it was basically a health food.

img_4779

We saw Coraline, which, if you haven’t yet, stop reading and go see NOW. I really can’t even describe it except to say that it was aesthetically beautiful, creative, and totally creepy. “Kids'” movies today have such adult themes… WALL-E, anyone? Some parts were really scary… I would have (and probably will) gotten nightmares from it.

We spent the day running errands, and had “lunch” around 5 at a little sandwich shop called Benvenuto. I got a sandwich with avocado, tomatoes, pickle relish, and olive tapenade on ciabatta.

img_4782

I didn’t realize how hungry I was until I started scarfing eating… that baby was gone pretty fast.

We had a late dinner at Linn in Queens. This place is so good… I’d only been once before but it’s just lovely. Although they do have sushi, they also have other kinds of Japanese fare.

They brought out a little amuse-boรปche of seaweed and some kind of seafood… it tasted like octopus and had the texture of a mushroom, so I really have no idea what it was. Very tasty though.

img_4784

And some hot sake, of course.

img_4787

We split some edamame.

img_4788

I really wish this picture had come out better, because it looked kind of beautiful in the bowl. In honor of my dad, I ordered a big bowl of nabe udon with a piece each of shrimp and vegetable tempura, seaweed, and an egg in a delicious broth.

img_4793

We had some Golden Girls and Fresh Prince for dessert, and hit the hay pretty early.

This morning we went to the diner, comme d’hab.

img_4794

I got an egg white omelet with spinach, feta, tomato and mushrooms. I ate most, and a lot of the home fries.

img_4797

And yummery, buttery toast. I had three triangles with grape jelly (I only like it when I’m at a diner, isn’t that strange?).

img_4798

I stopped at a little coffee cart on Wall Street before my interview (don’t you love the Tiffany-blue cup? Only in the Financial District…), and got a coffee with skim and its necessary counterpart: gum.

img_4799

As far as the interview went, I have a job assistant-teaching pre-schoolers for this summer! I’m very excited, but kind of terrified… I know a lot of you are teachers/ in school to be teachers too… any things I should know about?

I’ll try to catch up on reading tonight… love you all! Have a great weekend!

10 responses to “Home again, home again, jiggity jig

  1. CONGRATULATIONS ON THE INTERVIEW RESULTS!!! And enjoy your time at home ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. spend 5 minutes in a Coldstone and your clothes will smell like waffle cones for a week … not a bad thing! haha

  3. Ok marathon comment, ready?!

    When I was flying home from Boston, I had the first flight of the day. Well I was traveling with a huge group and we found out they canceled our flight. SO they rerouted all 25 of us from Detroit to….Minneapolis! We literally flew over our destination just to fly back. I do like that airport though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Coldstone is health food – you’ve got your protein, your dairy, some fruit. Your diner toast – it gets me every time!

    Oh girl, I’ve got tons of stories about teaching the kiddos!! Just know that kids don’t have verbal filters. They’ll tell you anything and everything and you’ll just laugh about it after!

  4. Cool, fast thinking finding yourself another flight.

    Very Japanese to honor your father.

    Great job. The teacher and the kids will love you. They won’t let you leave.

  5. breadandwithit

    Congrats on the job–those are some lucky pre-schoolers. Check out what they feed them for lunch and snacks–maybe you can have some input.

    I have always felt that ice cream and buttered popcorn are the healthiest foods of all.

    If you can keep your wits about you in a busy airport when your flight is canceled, you can do anything.

  6. Ah, so much to comment on!!!
    1. That ice cream looks SO good. Can you believe I texted my sister and described it to her? Beleieve it. She loves Coldstone. So, I had to share this with her haha.
    2. Glad you made it home safe & sound too of course ๐Ÿ™‚
    3. I want to see Coraline SO bad. I know I need to very soon.
    4. That Tiffany coffee cup is lovely.
    5. The diner food looks really yummy. I know you love that diner toast, girl!!! It looks good in the pictures!
    6. CONGRATS- on the job!!!! You know I am going to teach pre-k so I have lots of advice for you. Email me if ya have any questions!!!! I have loads to give ๐Ÿ™‚
    Have a fabulous night! love.

  7. Congrats on the job! Love all the eats!

  8. sounds like an awesome few days at home, aldready!! I miss NYC, and the coffee carts for sure ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be back this following week, so you’re recaps are getting me excited!

    job sounds great, I’ll be in NYC too…meet up sounds promising ๐Ÿ™‚

    Im an education major, as well….so all of this is so exciting to me…i’d love to hear more.!!

  9. Pingback: The (Katie) Kat Returns « Lilveggiepatch

  10. Pingback: A little bit of home « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

