The (Katie) Kat Returns

Well hello! I’m back in the icy tundra and back to school-life (but only for 90 more days! Not that we’re counting over here). I’ve been a very bad blogger but I just needed a little break.  I did take pictures of everything though, so here we go!

Yesterday I had my leftover nabe for a snack/ lunch (snuch) around 4.

img_4824

Ari and I met Kalle and Lisa in Manhatty for a beverage at Starbucks.  I got a tall chocolate banana Vivanno with skim milk.

img_4826

My parents had a nice little gathering last night with scrumptious food and delicious conversation.

I had some of this Malbec that Ari and I brought over because my mom has been on a Malbec kick recently.  It was nice to have red for a change!

img_4828

They called each other before dinner to coordinate their outfits.

img_4834

My mom made a fabulous dessert… here’s a little teaser.

img_4835

We had a yummy cheese and veggie spread. I ate almost an entire bowl of cherry tomatoes myself! The cheeses were Manchego (one of my favorites) and a goat/cow/sheep milk blend that was delicious on herbed Carr’s crackers.

img_4836

My dad made a soup that was so good that I slurped it up without asking what it was.  He also made a loaf of oatmeal bread from The Fannie Farmer Baking Book (I sent this to Erin in pre-vegan time for Secret Santa).

img_4843

We also had mushroom risotto, which I covered with a generous helping of shaved parmesan:

img_4850

Along with some curried spinach.

img_4853

On to the dessert!  Leslie was pretty excited.

img_4855

So was Daddy-O.

img_4856

Let’s be honest… who wouldn’t be excited about chocolate soufflé?

img_4857

It was fantastically rich and dark. I had this, plus a little scraping from the bowl. We finished off two big soufflés between the 7 of us!

img_4859

I stumbled upon some walnut brownies my mom had made earlier when I was clearing the dishes.  The thing about chocolate is once you start, it’s hard to justify stopping.

img_4861

Our farewell breakfast (because I’m not melodramatic at all) was at the diner.

img_4863

Yep, brunch specials again! Good morning, Mr. Mimosa.

img_4866

Take a long look at this toast, because it might be a while before you see it again! I had two triangles and donated the rest to the Growing Man cause.

img_4868

I got a”Florentine fritatta” : eggwhites, spinach, feta, tomato, pesto, with parmesan sprinkled on top.  I had about 80%, and 1/3 of the homefries.

img_4869

We had lunch right before driving to the airport at my favorite falafel place, right near home.  I got the falafel platter, which comes with fresh falafel tomatoes, lettuce, and unbelievably tasty hummus as a dressing.

img_4871

I split my pita with Ari.

img_4873

I had a small pink lady apple in the car.

img_48761

I treated myself to a skim latte and Lucky.  Ari just saw Push and thinks I look like Camilla Belle… we do both have dark hair!

img_4877

I also had more brownie.  My mom packed me two, and I just ate them both at once while I was waiting at the gate. Sometimes when I have a treat like that I just need to eat it all in one sitting.

img_4878

On the plane, I had a Silver Moon sandwich: goat cheese, tapenade, lettuce and cucumber on olive bread.

img_4880

When I got back to my apartment in St. Paul, I had a bowl of nonfat yogurt with Fiber One and a small banana.

img_4881

I came home to two surprises: 1) I got another parking ticket; there was a “snow emergency” and since I wasn’t here, I couldn’t move my car. Humbug.

2) Betty Ford is back!

img_1332

He’s much bigger than this now, but just as cute. I missed this little guy.

I’m trying not to obsess too much about being back at school and not being home… the best way to do this is probably to just get right back into things.  I’m going to go to the gym tomorrow… I haven’t gone since Wednesday! It’s amazing how much of a difference four days without exercise makes. But, although I treated myself, I thoroughly enjoyed everything and don’t feel guilty for a single indulgence.

Anywho.  I missed you all, and I can’t wait to catch up on your weekends.  Bonne nuit!

10 responses to “The (Katie) Kat Returns

  1. You are so joyful after you’ve been home! I was cracking up at this entire post. Growing man cause!!!

    Glad you had a great time and are back to school safe!

  2. WELCOME BACK!!! 🙂

  3. I missed you too! The best bloggers are the ones who take breaks as needed. 😉
    Rob’s been eating the bread that I froze, but I’m not gonna lie to you – when he takes a piece out, I pick out lots of the currants/dates because they’re vegan. That bread was so amazing girl.
    Welcome back!

  4. Looks like you had tons of fun!

  5. i love everything you ate!

    sorry you’re back at school — believe me, i know how hard it is! it’s basically the final push now. YOU CAN DO IT!

  6. Welcome back girlfriend! That lil apple is too cute. Not as cute as that little guy at the end though 😉

  7. Thanks for sharing all the pics! It all looks delicious! Hope you have a great Monday!

  8. NO guilt is allowed!! Glad you had such a blast – you’ll be back before you know it missy!

    What a fun little shin-dig at your parents place! I take it my invite was lost in the mail? It’s okay….no feelings hurt or anything 😉

  9. looks like a fun time for sure. And that is too funny that your mom and Ari are matching.

    I miss you all weekend! Hope your having a great Monday…back to the grind! 🙂

  10. hello, after looking your photo, honestly, you dont loolike camilla belle at all, but you made great photos!

Leave a Reply

