Monster Mash

Get ready for the motherload of a post! It hasn’t even been a full 24 hours, but, if you hadn’t already noticed, I come from a family of big eaters! It’s pretty great. Anywho, yesterday for lunch I tried out this Amy’s Samosa Wrap.

img_4957

While it was heating up, I prepared a bowl of the last half of this Pacific Foods roasted red pepper soup. I added tons of fresh lemon juice (my new love), half of a Laughing Cow light, and chili flakes. It was superb.

img_4959

The samosa was really good! It tasted like a samosa from an actual Indian restaurant, which is always a good sign. I could have used a little more spice, but I made up for it by squirting lots of lemon on it.

img_4962

For “dessert,” I had a fun size box of Mike & Ike from Hope.

img_4967

The driving yesterday could have been worse; it took me twice as long to get to my grandparents’ house than it usually does but no one was driving maniacally (for the most part). I was listening to my book on CD and there was a part where they were describing a horrible accident that took place on a highway during a blizzard… my knuckles were pretty white from that point on!

My lunch didn’t hold me over as well as I’d hoped and I was pretty ravenous, so I pulled over to unwrap this Nature Valley granola bar. (It was one of the snacks I got on the airplane so there was only 1 bar instead of the usual 2.)

img_4968

Dinner was so much fun. I mixed up my dates and we’re actually going to Heidi’s tonight (whoopee!). Last night, we went to Istanbul, a really good local Turkish restaurant that we go to pretty much whenever my dad visits.

My grandpa and I each started with a glass of Makulu, a half-sweet Pino Noir blend. It was really good, but we were the only drinkers at the table! I had two glasses throughout the course of dinner (which lasted more than two hours, so I paced myself pretty well).

img_4971

We ordered an appetizer platter for the table: stuffed grape leaves, baba ghanoush, hummus, and eggplant salad.

img_4972

And of course some fresh pita!

img_4973

My entrée came with a simple house salad dressed in a surprisingly good red wine vinaigrette.

img_4976

I ordered the Seafood Claypot, which features a seasonal catch. Last night’s was fresh cod, which was then baked in a lemon herb sauce and covered with feta and kasar cheeses. This was pretty big! I shared a little of it with my family, but about 75% of it was gone by the end of the night. I could have eaten more, but I was thinking about dessert! I know where my priorities are.

img_4980

It came with Basmati rice, which looks more like mush here, sorry.

img_4982

Oh, dessert. My dad always asks for rice pudding when we go to a Turkish restaurant, but they rarely have it. So, baklava it was! This was a MASSIVE square but I ate it all anyway. So flaky and good!

img_4984

I also had some Turkish tea which I took to go. Fate intervened and some of it sloshed out in the car, which was lucky for me anyway because this tea has SO MUCH CAFFEINE. I didn’t have much of a problem falling asleep, though.

img_4987

There’s no way to downplay this: we are a big breakfast family. For as long as I can remember, we’ve lingered over our baguettes (my grandpa and uncle used to make huge batches twice a year) and confitures (jam, silly!), absentmindedly flipping through the paper and discussing grand ole things. The bread is a big part of this equation… there’s a running joke, based on a true story, that we could happily live on bread alone. Once, when my grandparents were somewhere in France, they’d asked for “more bread” so many times that the waiter finally screamed that “this [was] not a bakery!”

So, I strayed from the beaten path a bit this morning by making oatmeal.

img_4988

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk + 1/3 cup after cooking
  • 1/2 banana
  • blueberries
  • strawberries
  • 1/4 cup Go Lean! Crunch
  • honey
  • 1 T peanut butter

This was the first time in a while that the oatmeal exploded in the microwave, and it hadn’t even been in there for two minutes! The power must have been on super-duper high or something… I’ll be more careful tomorrow!

I added some more milk, because it was a little dry.

img_4990

My grandparents had never heard of putting peanut butter in oatmeal before, so I’m hoping they try it soon! No way not to love that.

I eventually gave in to genetics and had a small piece of baguette with marjarine, black currant and raspberry jams.

img_4991

I’m not sure what the plan for the rest of the day is… my granny has Pilates (how cool is that?) and I’m going to try to go for a run on the treadmill as soon as breakfast is more of a memory.

Have a lovely weekend! Are you on spring break? Do you have plans for it?

Edited to add: Get yourself on over to Chocolate-Covered Katie for a chance to win an ENTIRE box of Jocalat Larabars! Holy moly!

13 responses to “Monster Mash

  1. Hooray for loads of great food!! Lovin’ that baklava.

    I start spring break after my last class today!! 😀

    Happy Friday!!

  2. i could eat hummus, baba gahnoush, and pita every day of my life and be happy. yum!

  3. Ooh that oatmeal looks like a great bowl of mushy deliciousness. I always add extra milk too, right before eating. It ups the creamy factor, ya know?

    Thanks for the link. I entered you :o)

  4. my grandparents are the same way with bread. My grandma always asks for more and then asks for a bag to take it to go—it’s so embarrassing!

    spring break isn’t until march 12. boo!

  5. Hey girl! thanks for the tip about thawing out the veggie burger first. That is a great idea, why didnt I think of that?! haha.

    All of the food looks so good, I just love trying new and different types of meals like that. That is also awesome that your grandmother takes pilates, I dont even think that my grandmother would know what that was! haha.

    Hope you have a great weekend dear!

  6. DAYUM that is a helluva post! Your dinner at Istanbul sounds fun! You hit up the best restaurants!
    For spring break, I’m working. Uhh…loser!

  7. I’m mesmerized by the monkey. Is he smoking?

  8. is that monkey smoking? Naughty chimp

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  9. nutritiousisdelicious

    My spring break starts in 14days! Can’t wait!

    Great eats! I have had one of those little “one bar Nature Valley Granola Bars” before and they are so handy!

    Have a fabulous friday!

  10. Your family sounds like so much fun!!! I love all the dinner eats…grape leaves & baklava- yes, please!!!
    And, your oats looked especially good this morning. I so hope your grandparents put peanut butter in their oats! 🙂 Wonderful!
    Have a fabulous day, Katie!

  11. Chilli flakes- you devil you!

    Your fam sounds like a legit group! 🙂

  12. I don’t think I’ve ever had an Amy’s product I didn’t like!

    No more spring break for me. 😦

  13. That Amy’s Samosa looks good. I might have to try it!

Leave a Reply

