Please, Please, Please Do Not Go

delicatebalance

Edward Albee's "A Delicate Balance" at The Guthrie.

I’m going to have that song in my head all night, but I am getting sad that my parents are leaving tomorrow! Why must all good things always come to an end?  This should be changed.

This morning I made the same kind of oatmeal that I had yesterday, and made one for my mom as well.

img_5032

  • 1/2ish cup oats
  • 3/4ish cup skim milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • raspberries
  • blueberries
  • honey
  • raisins
  • 1 T peanut butter

I also had a piece of baguette with marjarine, black currant and orange preserves.

img_5034

My grandmother treated us to the Guthrie’s performance of Edward Albee’s “A Delicate Balance.” It was really, really good, but very strange… it’s the same playwright who wrote “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” so it’s sort of a “family drama” that might give you the heebie jeebies.  I just checked and it’s also a movie… I didn’t recognize any of the cast but it might be good!

We went into the members’ lounge during intermission and got coffee (with a half & half packet) and a few mixed nuts.

img_5035

The light was a little funky so you can’t really see my mom (who was such a trooper and not tired at all after last night’s debacle!) but look at that view! The Guthrie has really interesting architectural design; a lot of the walls are floor-to-ceiling windows.

img_5038

My parents and I also split these cookies… I didn’t like the chocolate- white chocolate chip one too much, so I had more of the traditional.

img_5039

I also had a dark chocolate Hershey kiss.  Can you believe this was all from one intermission?!

img_5040

After the play, we had a late lunch at Spoonriver, a restaurant that focuses on wholesome, sustainable ingredients (Nicole & Caroline– the owner and chef, Brenda Langton, is who first told me about The Natural Gourmet Institute).

img_5042

I ordered a bowl of pinto bean soup, which was simply delicious and perfectly spiced.

img_5043

My mom and I also split the Porcini Mushroom & Pistachio Terrine with Cranberry Chutney, which was unbelievable.  I’m going to have to find a recipe for this (or I could just buy her cookbook, which I’ve used before!).

img_5045

We picked up a dessert for dinner before leaving the restaurant… good thing it was only half-baked, or it probably wouldn’t have made it home in one piece!

On the way back to my grandparents’ house we stopped at my favorite bookstore in the world where I was treated to some greats.  My mom then proceeded to threated me with a giant icicle.

img_5047

My grandparents had a nice family dinner party tonight and we had a lovely meal.  We had Manchego (my favorite!) and crackers (and this little man):

img_5053

I had a vodka soda and about half that platter of carrots.  (Don’t worry, that glass was only half-full with liquor to begin with.)

img_5057

My granny always sets a lovely table.

img_5058

Check out these place mats!

img_5050

My dad made a delicious curry with shrimp, mango, coconut milk, onions, peppers, and a cornucopia of spices.  We also had steamed brown rice and asparagus.

img_5061

With some Malbec (I’m going to need to take a break from wine this coming week!):

img_5063

I went back for two more shrimpies.  So good!

img_5066

A simple salad with romaine, oil & vinegar, and more asparagus:

img_5064
Here’s an action shot of my grandpa opening a bottle of wine with his special contraption.  I really want that vest.

img_5065

For dessert, we had vanilla frozen yogurt with my grandmother’s famous chocolate sauce.

img_5067

And the Spoonriver dessert! It was a vegan plum pie, made from a small farm in Minnesota. I had a small sliver, and had an epiphany that was not quite on the Proustian level, but pretty close: this summer will be filled with pie making, and that’s a promise.

img_5069

Well, that’s it for me! I’m going to cozy up with my book and enjoy my last night of pseudo-vacation.  Hope you’ve had a lovely Saturday. Bonne nuit!

8 responses to “Please, Please, Please Do Not Go

  1. I love your family outings and dinners. I feel so special to be “a part” of them 😉

    Oooh…yay! I sense a pie challenge comin’ on. I can bake a mean one, I’m warning you!

  2. Mmmmmm, the pie looks so good. So does that restaurant! I’m going to browse the website now 😀

  3. I always love reading/viewing about your theater production-dinner events – so fun!!

  4. What a fun filled family weekend! I used to go to plays with my grandparents all the time.

  5. Glad you’ve enjoyed the time with your family! That restaurant looks really good!

  6. nutritiousisdelicious

    What awesome eats! Looks like fun!

  7. a summer of pie making sounds good to me!

    i’m glad you had such a good weekend with the fam—sorry they have to leave : (

    you’ll see them again soon though! and until then, you always have me to keep you entertained!

  8. Would you mind commenting or emailing me the name of your favorite bookstore? I’m from the Minneapolis area and would love to check it out over spring break!

Leave a Reply

