So far, so good

I know, I know, it’s only been a day, but even one day without coffee or chocolate is a struggle for me!

Dinner tonight wasn’t a stretch… I’ve had this cabbage salad sitting in my fridge since Friday!

img_5233

About six years ago, before my first trip to France, a very good family friend of mine gave me More Home Cooking by Laurie Colwin (as well as some MFK Fisher stories) to get me excited about French food.  On my last trip home, I brought the book to read on the airplane, and let me tell you, there are so many delicious things in there that I can’t wait to make!

This cabbage came from a section about wonderful things to make with lemon.  (When CFW is over, I can promise you a lemon rice pudding!)  I adapted the recipe a little bit and ended up with a simple cabbage slaw that, even after two days in the refrigerator, is still crunchy and full of flavor.

Laurie Colwin’s Sesame Cabbage Slaw

  • 1 head of cabbage, washed and chopped into one-inch strips
  • salt
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • sesame oil
  • rice wine vinegar

Dress cabbage with a few shakes of salt and toss.  Add juice of 1/2 lemon first, then add more to taste.  Add a few tablespoons of sesame oil and rice vinegar to taste, and toss with hands.

You can see that the recipe is completely up to you.  You can have the whole thing for dinner (as Colwin did in college), but you probably won’t feel so great afterwards.

I didn’t use very much salt, but I justified having it for dinner tonight because I’d made it before deciding to try CFW and wasting food is much worse to me than a little extra sodium.  I have five days to eat up the contents of my fridg!

I also made some Gliding Calm tofu and a small sweet potato which I topped with a little agave (no added ingredients) and a couple dollops of Greek yogurt.

img_5234

The tofu decided it wanted to be cut into thin little triangles tonight.

img_5235

I sipped on a POM/ club soda spritzer

img_5230

… and caught up on the best parts of the newspaper.

img_5237

I knew the hard part of my meal was going to be the dessert.  If I don’t have some kind of sweet treat, I don’t feel like my meal has closure and I end up scavenging around until I finally just have what I wanted in the first place.  No chocolate, so I decided to have the next best thing: nut butter! I finished up the container of Greek yogurt and added 1/2 banana, 3 strawberries and 1 teaspoon of almond butter.

img_5238

This was my second time having AB today… I have a feeling it’s going to be keeping me afloat these next few days!

Anywho, I’m starting to fade after my night of ill sleep so I’m going to bring my homework into bed with me.  Hope you’ve had an excellent weekend!

What is one thing, big or small, that you’re looking forward to about tomorrow?

10 responses to “So far, so good

  1. Katie – the tofu/pecan recipe was delicious!! And for dessert – natural applesauce with raisins and greek yog 🙂

  2. Good for you! I think you’ll do great, and hopefully find a good substitute for that morning coffee (tea maybe?).

  3. The dessert looks perfect! Fruit and nut butters are amazing.

    Girl, you know I’d love to send any of the extra goodies over to you! Or next time you are in New York I’ll make sure to have some fabulous treats! 😀

  4. Hooray for feeling better, girl!! 🙂

  5. Congrats on completing a successful full day! And way to go on still being able to have a dessert without the chocolate. Im verrrry impressed.

  6. You are doing great! Yay 🙂 I like your tofu triangles, lady! Happy Monday!!!
    And I am looking forward to a fresh start today! New week 🙂

  7. That dinner is amazing! Way to go on your CFW day!!

    I am looking forward to getting this Chemistry exam over and done with!

  8. Pingback: Let’s Do The Time Warp Again! « Lilveggiepatch

  9. Pingback: Downward Dog and 8-minute abs « Lilveggiepatch

  10. Pingback: CFW Recap « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

