Dal-ing, I could just eat you right up!

Good evening, Love Bugs! I hope your Monday has been fabulous.  Mine was pretty good, thanks in part to a canceled class! Love when that happens, but it rarely does. I’m going to be evil and say that the one good thing about this crummy weather is that lots of people (um, profs) get sick! Of course, I hope they are feeling excellently and it’s nothing serious and just a little ole mental health day.

I grabbed an orange on the way out the door (before I knew class was annulé) :

img_5250

When I got home this afternoon, I spent a little time making tonight’s dinner.  I whipped up  bulgur for a grain base…. It’s so quick and easy!

img_5252

A Bulgur Lesson from Sunnylandmills.com.

Bulgur Wheat is a natural whole grain food in that no chemicals or additives are used in processing the product. Many of the wheat’s naturally occurring vitamins and minerals permeate the kernel during cooking thus maintaining more nutritive content than other forms of processed wheat products.

A staple of the traditional Mediterranean diet for thousands of years, bulgur wheat is becoming increasingly popular in modern health food and vegetarian diets. Rich in “B” vitamins, iron, phosphorous and manganese, it complements the protein profile of legumes such as pinto beans and its “B” vitamins complement the folate in vegetables such as spinach, asparagus, broccoli or brussels sprouts.

… a cup of bulgur has fewer calories, less fat, and more than twice the fiber of rice!

Here are some stats for one cup of cooked bulgur (from nutrientfacts.com):

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size 1 Cup
Amount Per Serving
Calories 150

Calories from Fat 5

% Daily Value*

Total Fat 0g

0%

Saturated Fat  0g

0%

Cholesterol 0mg

0%

Sodium 10mg

0%

Total Carbohydrates 35g

11%

Dietary Fiber  8g

30%

Protein 6g

10%

Vitamin A  0% Vitamin C  0%
Calcium  2% Iron  10%
Zinc  8% Thiamin  8%
Riboflavin  4% Niacin  10%
Vitamin B-6  8% Folate  8%
Vitamin B-12  0% Phosphorus  8%
Magnesium  15% Vitamin D  0%

*

Percent Daily values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.  Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs


To make bulgur on the stove, simply maintain a 2:1 water:grain ratio. For 1 cup of dried bulgur, use 2 cups of water and 1 tsp salt.  Simmer on the stove until thick, about 20 minutes. 

For the main event, I made Lentil Dal from the New York Times.

img_5253

Lentils simmering with garlic and onion:

img_5254

The onions have been discarded (or eaten!) and the lentils are now cooking with oil and spices.

Ta-da! I didn’t have any yogurt to serve it with, so I ran to the deli across the street.  They only had 2% cottage cheese, but I got it anyway.

img_5257

Lentil dal with bulgur and cottage cheese.

Mind you, I served it on a small plate, but it was SO much food. I had to eat at 5:30 because I had night class, but I was pretty full. Luckily it kept me satiated until I got home.

I also snacked a LOT during the cooking.  I don’t know why, but I’ve always really enjoyed the taste of plain, salted grains (rice, pasta, etc.) so I just kept picking at it!

When I got home from class, I couldn’t decide what dessert-y snack I wanted, so I tested the waters with an almond-butter covered date.

img_5262

Then I made a bowl of nonfat Old Home peach yogurt (100-cal pack) with a tangerine, two walnuts for texture, and a teaspoon of almond butter. Parfait!

img_5263

Crap Free Week Day 2 -Recap:

Today went pretty well.  I didn’t get too hungry between meals, and I got a wide variety of different foods. I’m starting to get a little canker sore on my tongue from too much sugar, though… strange! Must be all the fruit.  I do have to plan my meals pretty carefully because I don’t want to run out of food before I go home, but I also don’t want things to go to waste.  I’ll probably be doing a lot of cooking in the next three days, which is just fine with me!

I don’t know how much I can say about my energy level, yet… I had a big cup of black tea this morning but then took a 3-hour nap.  I can do that with coffee, too, so I guess caffeine is mostly psychological for me. Tomorrow is going to  be a challenge, though, since I have a 9:30 start.

Anywho, my eyes are a-droopin’ so it’s time for this Patch to hit the hay. Have lovely dreams!

6 responses to “Dal-ing, I could just eat you right up!

  1. Thanks for all the bulgur info. I’ve never tried it!

    I am the same way with a hot liquid in my tummy…I don’t care if its straight espresso, it makes me sleepy.

    Way to stay of that crap, girl. And there are a lot worse things you could snack on than grains 😉

  2. Hooray for a canceled class and for delish eats!! 🙂

    Fabulous CFW day 2 recap!!

  3. Canceled class?! Free snow day!! Love it when that happens!

    Thanks for the bulgur lesson, Miss LilVeggiePatch 🙂

    By the way 2% CC is where it’s at, gurrrl!

  4. gina (fitnessista)

    whoo hoo for canceled class!
    and lentil dal?! yes please 😀
    thanks for the bulgar lesson- i’ve actually never tried it!
    enjoy your day 😀

  5. Glad the CFW is going well! What a yummy day of eats. Dinner looks incredible and I love that you added in some educational info too! Hope you got some sleepies!

  6. Yeah for CFW and all of your delicious food and cancelled class.

Leave a Reply

