The Monster In Me

Another horrible night of sleep. I won’t bore you with the details, but that’s why “breakfast” is once again at 11:15 on a schoolday!

Around 12:30 last night I tried the hot milk trick:

img_5276

Warm skim milk with vanilla & agave nectar.

This morning I tried out my own version of Angela’s famous Green Monster:

img_5277

  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate juice
  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1 tsp flax
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 4 small strawberries

I rescued the almond butter that got stuck in the spoon with a mission fig. Leave no nutty goodness behind!

img_5280

Here it is, in its green morning glory:

img_5281

It tasted pretty good! I’m always weary about having smoothies for breakfast… I think I need to chew on something for my brain to recognize that I’ve eaten a meal. But, since it’s so late, I’ll probably be eating lunch in two hours so this is just fine!

I can’t believe it’s Wednesday already. Happy humpday!

Edited to add: go here for a chance to win Gina’s Quaker Spa giveaway… and wish her pilot a welcome home!!! And if you’re really feeling wild, head on over to Heather Eats Almond Butter for a coconut milk product giveaway!

6 responses to “The Monster In Me

  1. Faaabulous Monster smoothie!!

    Hope you can sleep better tonight!!

  2. The smoothie sounds great!

    I hope your sleep troubles are over soon!

  3. Leave no nutty goodness behind – Agreed!

    I always have to supplement my smoothies as I like to chew as well. They’re always just a side item or dessert.

    Thanks for the link love. 🙂

  4. breadandwithit

    Is it possible that this week’s food is not agreeing with the sleeping part of your soul? Is the CFW/5 days over?

  5. umm is your almond butter perched on the radiator? haha, i guess that’s one way to get it warm an gooey!

  6. Glad to see you’re not leaving any almond butter behind – personally I would have probably liked the measuring spoon but that’s because I have no impulse control!

Leave a Reply

