Wrap Me Up

Afternoon! Hope everybody’s Wednesday is going fabulously. Mine’s been just fine… although I’ve only been up for three hours or so.

I didn’t really let my breakfast digest before lunch, but it was either eat now or wait until 4 and I didn’t want another day of tummy rumbling like yesterday.

The cabbage wraps pleased me so much yesterday that I decided to make some again! Today I stuffed two leaves with Lemon Pepper Bulgur Salad with Seitan, Grape Tomatoes & Mozzarella.

img_5287

Lemon Pepper Bulgur Salad with Seitan, Grape Tomatoes & Mozzarella

  • 1 cup pre-cooked bulgur
  • 1/2 cup (ish) seitan
  • handful of grape tomatoes
  • 1 slice mozzarella cheese
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together until lemon and pepper are well-blended.  Microwave on HIGH about 1 minute, or until cheese has started to melt.  Spoon into lettuce leaves and enjoy!

img_5285

There was some left in the fridge that I went back to finish off while watching part of Reservation Road. Has anyone seen this movie?  It is so sad that I don’t think I could stand it for much more than 20 minutes or so at a time. Anywho, I think a common misconception I have, and maybe some of you do, too, is that when I’m eating CF or foods that have a stellar nutrition score, I think I need to eat a lot more of it than I would with “regular” food. I’m feeling a wee uncomfortable, in terms of fullness, so I wish I would have waited a few minutes to see if I really wanted seconds!

I based my “lunch dessert” off a snack Sarah made yesterday. She blended pumpkin and cottage cheese together until smooth; I’m lazy and still haven’t washed the blender from breakfast, so I just mushed ’em all together. I also added agave and cinnamon.

img_5288

This was SO good. It definitely felt very dessert-y and I might even bring it to class tonight! Speaking of which, tonight will be the true CFW test: I have the night class that my prof always brings cupcakes to.  I have  some tricks up my sleeve, though…

Enjoy the rest of your day!

6 responses to “Wrap Me Up

  1. dang girl, im impressed by those wraps, they look good AND healthy! I def. think the same way that you do too, if its healthy food I can eat more of it. haha.

    I have never seen reservation road, but everyone talks about how sad it is. I kinda want to see it, but im like you, I dont know if I could stand it for too long!

    Goodluck with the testing of the CFW tonight in your class. Im sure you will be able to fight temptation! I had a class last semester and the prof. would ALWAYS bring chocolate, but like the good expensive dark chocolate…needless to say, I could not resist. haha

  2. Yummy pumpkin cheesecake snackeroo! Thanks for the shout out!

    Yes, I always think its okay to stuff myself with healthy food. Better than the alternative, though, right?

  3. i definitely overdo it with healthy stuff sometimes-but it’s definitely better than overdoing it with crap, which I’m definitely guilty of too.

    so i need your help—I’m going home for spring break tomorrow (WOOOO!) and have a big list of food i want to make when i’m home since i’ve been going through cooking withdrawal. i have wayyy too many meals on my list though and not enough days to eat them all! I know you’re a big fan of tofu so what’s your #1 favorite tofu recipe? I’ll be sure to give you a shout-out when I make it ; )

  4. breadandwithit

    Cupcakes can be frozen for later use. It might be rude not to at least take one. Personally, I’m not sure that a home-baked cupcake is a violation of CFW. There are no crappy foods, only crappy eating habits.

  5. I heart your wraps! Thanks for striking my cottage cheese craving – I’m not even hungry yet but I just want it! I always over do it on the veggies and end up with one talkative tummy at night!

  6. Pingback: CFW Recap « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

