CFW Recap

Good evening, bloggies!  I hope you’re all gearing up for fun things for the weekend.  This is probably going to be a long post, and my cab is coming to whisk me away in 7 hours, so let’s get cracking!

I had a bag of almonds around 4:30 today right before Step:

img_5303

Step was great today.  We did a lot of leg work, so I’m sure I’m going to feel it tomorrow! After class I ran a quick mile and did some arm work.

Total time: 1 hour 32 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 187 (94%)

Average heart rate: 152 (76%)

Calories burned: 851

When I came home I was pretty hungry so I had a grapefruit while I got dinner ready.  I gobbled it down without taking a picture… whoops!

For some reason I was really craving rice and beans, which is odd because I don’t have that very often! I melted some manchego and cheddar on top, and had a sweet potato on the side.  I’ll admit that I cheated and put some B&B on it in addition to the agave

img_5304

I also had a POM/club soda spritzer.

img_5306

For dessert, I wanted to celebrate the end of CFW with one of my favorite treats: a Skinny Cow ice cream sandwich with almond butter.

img_5309

You’re never going to believe this, but it tasted awful! It was so sweet.  I noticed that I’d picked up the No Sugar Added kind, and I don’t think that’s the norm for Skinny Cow, so it’s not like a week without ice cream affected me that much.  But it was so disgusting that I had to throw it out.  What a waste of AB!

Instead, I had something more along the lines of what I’ve been eating: Old Home Pomegranate Strawberry yogurt with PB & two dates. Much better!

img_5310

I packed breakfast for the airport (sorry for the bad photos, I was rushing):

img_5307

Pumpkin, almond butter, raisin, banana, honey & cinnamon on Oat Nut bread.

I also packed an orange and a red bell pepper.

img_5308

Crap-Free Week (5 Days) Recap:

As I said last night, CFW would have gone a lot better had I taken more time to plan.  As a result, I didn’t really have many snacks besides fruit, nuts and veggies, and as healthful as those are, there’s only so much you can eat without upsetting your stomach!

What I learned:

I had to be a lot more creative with my meals, which is great because I came up with some new recipes that I’m sure to make again. However, making something fresh each night is exhausting! I usually have a reasonably fresh diet, but without bottled dressings or canned soups it’s a lot more difficult.

Not having chocolate every night was not the end of the world.  I did transfer that onto my need to have nut better almost 3 times a day!  I also learned to live without coffee, but as I said before, brewing a pot is a great signal for me that it’s morning and time to start the day.

As far as my energy goes, I don’t think 5 days is really an adequate amount of time to make a fair assessment. That’s kind of a cop-out answer, but yes, I was tired during the day, but I have that problem even when I’m not eating “crap-free.”   This is something I’ve been struggling with for a long time, but I hope I’ll get to the bottom of it one day soon.

I felt a lot “healthier,” overall.

Top CFW breakfast:

Nutty Fruit and Coconut Hot Cereal

Top CFW meals:

Laurie Colwin’s Cabbage Slaw

Lentil Dal with Bulgur

Cabbage wraps: Tuna Avocado Salad & Lemon Pepper Bulgur Salad with Seitan, Grape Tomatoes & Mozzarella

Rice & Beans w/ cheese

Top snacks:

carrots and hummus

nuts

fruit (apples, oranges, grapes)

BEST DESSERT:

yogurt with nut butter, fruit/dried fruit, additional nuts optional

I’m looking forward to getting back to “regular” eating, but I’m going to take some of my new healthy habits with me on Spring Break.

Have a great night and see you in New York!

8 responses to “CFW Recap

  1. i just got home and it feels soooooo good to be blogging from my comfy bed in my comfy room. Have a safe flight home and enjoy your break! yayyy!

  2. I always like feeling a little healthier. I am worried about your tiredness though. I mean, probably obvious, but do you sleep enough?

  3. SWEET POTATO!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Safe travels darling! Enjoy your time at home! What a kick butt workout- you rock. Yummy dinner- sometimes the basics (like beans and rice) are just so comforting and exactly what you need!

  5. Fabulous review, girlie! That plane sammy sounds delicious – have a safe trip home!!

  6. Thanks for the review girl, I have been looking forward to it all week!

    I hope you have a safe trip home and an awesome spring break!

  7. Have a great time at home!

    I have noticed too that even after a few days of eating more natural foods, my tastebuds change and artificial stuff doesn’t taste as good as I remember it.

  8. Peanut butter on an ice cream sandwich? Genius!

Leave a Reply

