Greek, Indian & Japanese

Happy Friday night!  It’s only 11 here (10 Minnesota time) but I am in my PJs and ready for bed. I am wiped! 6:30 AM flights are not fun, let me tell you.  I’d planned on saving some (a lot) of cash- money by taking the air train from the airport into Manhattan, but my bag felt like it was literally breaking my back and I decided to take a cab… I just won’t eat for the next month or so.  Riiight.

When I got to the apartment, I had a small bowl of Mueslix with skim milk.

img_5311

Charley kept me company while I passed out in bed for a good three hours.  He’s a very good bed buddy.

img_5312

For lunch, I had a vegetable paratha– Indian flatbread made with whole wheat flour, spices and vegetables.

img_5316

Using these two chutneys…

img_5318

I took my dad’s suggestion and topped the paratha with Greek yogurt, chutney and a Pink lady apple.

img_5319

HOLY freaking YUM! When the bread was all used up, I mixed the extra apple with chutney (that’s fresh-made below) into the rest of the yogurt.  I have to do this more often.  The best combination was a little mango and a lot of tamarind. So good.

img_5320

For dessert I had frozen Thin Mints! I love Girl Scout season.

img_5321

My parents and I met for dinner at our favorite Japanese restaurant.  My mom and I got there first and split some hot sake.

img_5324

We also got some edamame… leaving some for my dad was a bit of a struggle.

img_5325

I started with miso soup

img_5326

And though I tried to break from my ways, I ended up ordering my usual bento box with salad, tempura, a California roll and tuna/salmon sashimi.  It’s my comfort food, what can I say?

img_5330

We made a pit stop on the way home for some Edy’s Slow Churned Vanilla Bean Ice Cream (which now costs EIGHT DOLLARS. $8!) and topped it with Stonewall Kitchen’s Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce and pecans. Divine.  My mom and I were just saying that Stonewall Kitchen can do no wrong… everything they turn out is perfect!

img_5331

We all fell asleep watching Masterpiece Theater (yes, yes, shush) so I’m going to bed before I perk up again.  Hope you’re having a great start to the weekend!

7 responses to “Greek, Indian & Japanese

  1. Wow! $8 for ice cream? That is so crazy.

    I hope you have a fabulous break!

  2. Frozen thin mints are the best! Happy weekend!

  3. THREE OF MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE CUISINES!! Yum.

    Aww, Charley 🙂

  4. Your ice cream sundae looks amazing! Mmmmmm

  5. Oh, and a cake-date is in order!

  6. Frozen thin mints – the ONLY way to enjoy the little scouts!! I have no comment on your lunch because I just amazed by it – delish!

    Thanks for the heads up on that author! I’ve never heard of him but I’m definitely interested!!

  7. i’m glad you’re home!

    i go through the same travel dilemma getting from the airport to my house at school—it’s $45+ for a cab but only $1.70 to take the subway, but it’s soooooo much work (switching lines and walking 20 minutes back to my house) that i usually just drop the cash. it sucks but my back is thankful.

    stonewell kitchen really can do no wrong–i’ve been to their store before and they have a billion samples out. it;s like heaven.

Leave a Reply

