Hot breakfast at home

Top o’ the morning, to ya! I’m typing this while my mom does my hair.  I used to hate it when I was little, but now I think it feels pretty good! Nice to be coddled every once in a while.

This morning I found some of Bob’s Red Mill 5 Grain Hot Cereal in the cupboard.

img_5332

Ingredients: rolled whole wheat, rye, oats, flaxseed, barley, and triticale.

img_5334

The serving size (1/3 cup) just wasn’t quite enough, so I used a little more than that, made with 2/3 cup water and 1/3 cup milk.

img_5336

  • 1/2 banana
  • dried apricots
  • nuts (hazelnuts, walnuts, pecans)
  • unsweetened shaved coconut
  • cinnamon
  • brown sugar

It was very good. I’ve been spoiled by mixing two cereals together, so I would have liked to stir in some Oat Bran or something to mix up the texture.

With the first cup of coffee I’ve had in FIVE weeks:

img_5337

Well, we’re off to go museum and gallery hopping.  Have a great Saturday!

6 responses to “Hot breakfast at home

  1. I love when people play with my hair! Its like a mini head massage! haha.

    Have fun at the museums!

  2. Oh my, me too!! I DESPISED it when my mom did my hair when I was little; and now it’s fun when she does it for special occasions, haha 😀

    Have a glorious Saturday at the museum/shopping!!

  3. Have fun today!

  4. I hated my mom doing my hair when I was little too (trying in vain to straighten it!) but now I love it when people do my hair!

    Have great weekend in NY! Send the city my love 🙂

  5. I LOVE when people do my hair – it makes me so sleepy though 🙂

    Hope you had a fabulous day!!

  6. Yum, that looks great – I love brown sugar!
    I love having my head touched! Yay mom!

Leave a Reply

