Special Request

1aeverlastingmoments

Hi dolls! Sorry for this day-late post… I’ve been having some difficulties with my wireless (GRR) so this might happen a lot.

My mom and I had a GREAT run yesterday. The weather was perfect… it was a little gray out but it was the perfect temperature and we were running without our sweatshirts by the halfway point. My mom hasn’t been running for six months, and I was so proud of how hard she pushed herself! She goes a lot faster than I do, but I kept up and we walk/jogged so it probably balanced out.

Total time: 1:01:11

Maximum heart rate: 191 (96%)

Average heart rate: 159 (80%)

Calories burned: 602

Yesterday for lunch, I had leftover Silver Moon bread (seeded roll & sourdough boule) which I used to sandwich an Amy’s California Veggie Burger.

img_5384

I spread the burger with mustard, mango & tamarind chutneys. Great mix of flavors!

img_5388

We spent the afternoon at the movies, seeing Everlasting Moments. Before we left, I had a Gala apple.

img_5389

The movie was really good, but I should have bought more snacks because I was STARVING the whole time. I had to sneak out towards the end and get a treat from the concession stand…. they do have the best rugalagh so it was worth it, but I was still hungry.

img_5390

When we got home, I slammed a glass of grapefruit juice.

img_5391

We had some hors d’oeuvres while dinner was being made, starting with Manchego.

img_5395

I had some on a little stale boule.

img_5396

I went a little overboard on the carrots and tomatoes and started to fill up…

img_5398

I sliced some blood red oranges

img_5405

Which were the star ingredient in this salad of fennel, mixed olives, blood oranges tossed with a honey/hazelnut oil/blood orange vinegar dressing.

img_5409

The real treat tonight was a dinner that I’ve been looking forward to my mom making for months, and is on my top 10 list of comfort foods.

img_5411

Simple Scallop Pasta

  • enough oil to coat the bottom of the pan
  • 5 medium cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb scallops
  • 2 handfuls fresh Italian parsley, chopped
  • 1 lb fresh linguine (can sub boxed)
  • 1/4 cup plain bread crumbs

Turn on good music. Boil pasta in oil and salted water. Cook garlic in oil until it is golden brown and remove from heat until linguine is al dente (about 6-8 minutes if linguine is fresh or according to package directions) Add scallops to the oil and cook until they’re white, adding extra oil if necessary. Season to taste with fresh black pepper, adding chili flakes if you want a kick. Add parsley and bread crumbs. Reserve about 1/4 cup pasta water to thin sauce if necessary. Combine scallops and pasta, season with salt and pepper, and enjoy!

Serves 4

We ate on TV trays while watching the A Taste For Death miniseries (there was some snoozing again from the ladies’ end). That’s a big ole mug o’ milk on the left! Don’t forget your calci-YUM!

img_5414

Dessert was Edy’s Slow Churned Vanilla Bean ice cream with blueberries, pecans and Stonyfield Farms Semisweet Chocolate Sauce.

img_5416

I couldn’t decide last night what I wanted for breakfast (yes, this is one of the things that keeps me up… strange I know) but this morning I decided on some plain old oatmeal.

img_5418

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 banana (I ate the other half later)
  • blueberries
  • strawberries
  • honey
  • 1 tsp unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 tsp cashew butter

img_5420

It was missing a little something, so I went back and added cinnamon and 1/8 cup of granola.

3 responses to “Special Request

  1. Great run with Mom and GORGEOUS blood oranges!!

  2. What a wonderful run with your mama!!
    I LOVE scallops! Love them. So I know I would love that pasta 🙂
    Girl, we had almost the exact same breakfast today!!
    Happy Monday!

  3. Yay for running with mommy!!

    I LOVE the plate of carrots and toms! I don’t think you can overboard on them – they’re too tasty 🙂

Leave a Reply

