5 Napkin Night-to-Day

44651628

Good evening and happy Thursday! I hope it’s treating you well.  So far I’ve had a pretty nice (if restful) day… but I’ll backtrack to last night, first.

I was horribly late to dinner at 5 Napkin Burger, but my kind family had saved me this piece of a Vietnamese Shrimp & Salad Roll.

img_5488

I was also (to Stewart’s amusement) completely frazzled while trying to get myself settled (I hate being late) and ordered a glass of Blue Moon Spring Ale.  Don’t you love themed things?

img_5489

As promised, I ordered the Ahi Tuna Burger Salad (chopped greens, endive, tomatoes, roquefort cheese, cucumbers, peppers, green beans, red onion, radishes, celery, 5 N sauce, oil & vinegar dressing).  I’d had my mom order for me but didn’t get to the waitress before she put the dressing on the side… I still ate ever scrap.

img_5492

In my exuberance over  our Espresso Brownie Sundae (Vanilla Ice Cream, Espresso Caramel,
Whipped Cream & Salted Peanuts) , which my mom and I split, I completely forgot to take a picture.  I scraped off the whipped cream (ick) but it was SO good. Salted peanuts + chocolate + ice cream = heaven.

I did remember to photograph the coffee I guzzled before the play… sadly it didn’t keep me awake and my head flopped through about 75% of the first act.  Too bad, because The American Plan was really good!  It must have been a special showing, too, because there were more celebrities in the audience than usual.

This morning, Ari and I headed to the diner for breakfast.  His foodie pics were so good  in his last post that I asked him to take them today.

Coffee was consumed like water:

img_5500

I didn’t even notice we’d gotten orange juice with our meals until I uploaded this photo! I must have still been sleeping…  The omelets are now only $5, which made them even more delicious.

img_5501

I copied Ari’s omelet from yesterday and ordered egg whites with all the veggies, feta, and no potatoes.  And two toast triangles, which also escaped the photo’s eye.  I have been quite a slacking food blogger!

img_5503

Ari got chocolate chip pancakes, which he meticulously cut into tiny bite-sized pieces.  Does anyone else do this?  I’ve never seen it before!

img_5505

We deep-cleaned the room (and the inches of dust that were under the bed… pretty gnarly) and I had a banana.

img_5506

I’ve been picking at the sad remains of the PB&J Banana bread all day… it’s much smaller than it was in this picture and there probably won’t be any left by the end of the night.

img_5510

I made us Gliding Calm Tofu and couscous for lunch.  However, the rice wine vinegar was completely rancid and looked like it had a phosphorescent jelly fish floating in it.  Pretty vile, so I subbed light soy sauce. We also didn’t have any chili flakes, so I used sarachi sauce instead.  I liked the extra kick!

img_5511

I had a big juicy Gala for dessert.  Notice how clean the headboard is!

img_5512

Not sure what our plans are for tonight… everyone has work to get done so dinner will probably be pretty late.  Hope you have a nice night!

11 responses to “5 Napkin Night-to-Day

  1. send your whipped cream my way please! it’s like my favorite food, and it’s not even a real food! Is that sick? yes.

  2. That sundae sounds awesome. Love your version of Gliding Calm Tofu. Have a great night!

  3. Oh I hate being late too!! I’m always insanely early just because I’m afraid of being late! Celebs?! Name drop, please 😀

    No toast picture?! NOOOOOO!!! 😉 You and I wrap our loaves of bread the exact same way – take aluminum foil and mash it on there!

  4. looks like you had a nice productive day! the headboard IS so clean! and the play looked really fun 🙂

  5. Oh, no dear! I actually finished up my hiatus and now I’m back… I didn’t realize that you had MOVED BLOGS and I missed out on your posts! 🙂 thank goodness for archives!

  6. I cut my girls’ pancakes up like Ari, does that count?

    You can come dust my headboard any time!

  7. Sounds like you are having great eats (that omelete sounds like heaven!) Glad to be with the bf??? hes such a cutie 😉

  8. I don’t meant to emasculate, but I’ve never seen a boy cut his ‘cakes up quite that small! I like doing it myself personally! 🙂
    Your dessert with mom sounds so tasty 🙂

  9. Ohhh your diner omelettes always look so good! I LOVE omelettes but only eat them when I’m home for a break and at some diner! Can’t have it any other way! Except I smother mine in salsa and hot sauce instead of ketchup! I should try ketchup though, have fun with ari and the fam!

  10. After lurking for awhile, I finally wanted to let you know how much I love your blog! I just started one of my own — please check it out!

  11. I break up my crunchy nature valley granola bars like that…..not with pancakes though! But my friend always laughs at me when I do it! To each his own!! 😀

Leave a Reply

