School Daze

Good afternoon and happy Tuesday! Thanks for all of your nice words about my daddy… I got a call from one of his nurses today saying his first surgery went well, thank goodness.

This morning it was HARD to get up.  We’d been going to bed pretty early (relatively speaking) in New York, and staying up an extra hour really makes such a difference! As I said before, food is sparse in the apartment, but luckily I was able to whip up this bowl of oats:

img_5600

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup 10 grain hot cereal
  • 2 dates, stirred in halfway through cooking
  • 3 dried figs
  • pumpkin
  • cinnamon
  • cottage cheese
  • brown sugar

I also had coffee,  but I’m so used to going out to eat that I forgot to make the pot in time! Usually it’s the first thing I do when I stumble into the kitchen in the morning, so this morning I had to chug it pretty fast so I’d get to class in time. Ick.

I went to the cafeteria for lunch and had spinach with beets and feta, drizzled with oil and vinegar; celery with peanut butter & craisins (fire ants on a log)…

img_5601

I also had a small bowl of ancho-spiked bean chili with rice and shredded cheese.

img_5602

I already read this Gourmet at home, but there are so many good things to make in it!

img_5603

I took a chocolate cookie to go and just ate it while I helped Ari download Firefox.

img_5604

He’s very worried about contaminating and slowing down his computer, and has resisted getting this for months. Lucky for me he finally caved… now we can watch Heroes together on Netflix!

Please forgive that I’m still completely behind on your blogs. I’m going to catch up on them tonight when I have time.

Have a great rest of the day!

6 responses to “School Daze

  1. HAH i love that you call the craisins “fire ants”!

  2. i switched to firefox because of netflix, too!

  3. YAY Firefox!! Glad your dad’s first surgery went well 🙂

  4. I love Firefox! It rules 😀

  5. Yummy eats! Glad your dad’s first surgery went well!

  6. Glad your dad’s surgery went well! I hope the rest of your semester is a breeze!

Leave a Reply

