Library Lunch And A Product Review

Howdy folks!  I hope you’re enjoying your humpday.  I only have one “real” class today because my senior seminar is taking a trip to see
The Color Purple on stage.  It’ll be fun, but I hope I don’t fall asleep and flop onto one of my classmate’s shoulders! It’s been done before.

My snack this morning was an Ambrosia apple.  Has anyone tried these? They were cheap at the grocery store so I picked up a few. I liked it, but it was a little sweet. Galas are still the apple of my eye, I think.

Look at that frosty ground! Ick.

img_5620

Lunch was a fake turkey/avocado/spinach/mustard sandwich on an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin, Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt (review to follow) and carrots. I bought curly leaf spinach because it was a dollar cheaper.  It’s bulkier but doesn’t offend my taste buds, so I’m happy!

img_5621

I’m trying to be stealth with the chomping so in the course of an hour I’ve had, like, three carrots. Gotta be courteous, you know? Speaking of which. There was an older woman sitting across from me who was, no joke, GAMING in the library. That’s fine, I understand the appeal of having free internet and a quiet place to geek out. But really, lady, do you need to TALK INTO YOUR HEADSET to other gamers around the globe while there are people trying to get some work done? Bah. Anyway!

Product Review: Stonyfield Farm’s Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt:

img_5616

After reading about my cheapie Greek yogurt fiasco Kristina over at Oikos/ Stonyfield Farms kindly offered to send me some coupons to try out Oikos. She noted that I seemed to particularly enjoy Chobani, so I was anxious to see how this would compare!

Oikos 5.3 oz Vanilla

Serving Size 1 Container
Amount Per Serving
Calories 110 Calories from Fat 0
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 0g 0%
Sat Fat 0g 0%
Trans Fat g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 60mg 3%
Total Carbohydrate 12g 4%
Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
Sugars 11g
Protein 15g 30%
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 20% Iron 0%
*Percent Daily Values are based on
a 2,000 calorie diet.
OUR FAMILY RECIPE: CULTURED PASTEURIZED ORGANIC NONFAT MILK, ORGANIC SUGAR, ORGANIC NATURAL VANILLA FLAVOR. CONTAINS FIVE LIVE AND ACTIVE CULTURES INCLUDING L. ACIDOPHILUS, BIFIDUS, AND L. CASEI.

img_5622

The flavor is sweet, almost like it has a liqueur mixed in, but it’s still tangy and thick. I might prefer to add my own flavoring; I’m more of a “plain” Greek yogurt kind of girl. Vanilla has never been my favorite flavor so this won’t be an entirely unbiased review! The more I ate, the more I enjoyed. It’s the perfect “dessert lunch” for me; I never really feel that a meal is finished until I have a treat, but there are only so many times a day I can have cookies or ice cream (unfortunately!).

Would I buy this again? Yes, but I think the next time I have this flavor I’ll mix in something like muesli or fruit. There’s a recipe for a “tiramisu parfait” on the container that sounds DIVINE, so I may try to recreate something more dessert-y with this flavor.

Thanks again, Kristina!

3 responses to “Library Lunch And A Product Review

  1. yay gala apples! I’ve never heard of ambrosia though. Braeburns and gala are my favourite!

    I only tried the honey Oikos and didn’t like it much- might need to give the other flavours a whirl. Though definitely with mix-ins…granola/muesli make everything taste better!

  2. I’ve never heard of ambrosia apples. Honeycrisps are my favorite.

  3. I love galas the most too! Something about ’em!

    Oh and on hte subject of product reviews: The Chocolate Cherry Jocalat Larabar = A++

Leave a Reply

