Cheap & Tasty

Good evening! Today ended up being a rather nice day, despite the horrible weather.  Class was interesting, Step was great, and I tried out a new recipe that is both economical and delicious. Sounds pretty nice, huh?

So, the reason my workout felt so good was thanks, I believe, in part to this article that I read this morning.  Basically, having caffeine before you exercise will help you perform better.  Usually after my morning java, unless I’m meeting friends at a café or have some serious studying to do, I don’t usually have any more because I have so much trouble falling asleep as it is.  Well, today I had a cup of coffee right before Step, and I felt great! I didn’t need to stop at all, and didn’t feel like I was petering out halfway through.  Kind of ironic that I made this discovery the day my coffee pot broke!

After class, I ran a mile on the treadmill at a combination of 5.7 @1% incline, 6.6 and 6.2 at 0% incline.  Just a week ago I wouldn’t have been able to run this fast comfortably, but I didn’t feel like I was straining and it felt pretty fantastic.  I’m convinced this is from running outside, a little faster that I’m used to, on a natural terrain that isn’t 100% flat.  I did some arm work after class and a little ab in addition to the ab work we did in class.

Total time: 1 hour 28 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 191 (96%)

Average heart rate: 141 (72%)

Calories burned: 743

After my workout I had the last half of my WCMN Clif.  Oddly enough, I really liked it today! This may be because I was STARVING and scarfed it down in 10 seconds flat.

img_5642

After Heather and Mark’s genius Chobani/ Oikos blind taste, I decided to have my own tasting. Although Kristina commented on my preference for Chobani (which I love, don’t get me wrong) when she sent me the coupons, my true Greek soul mate is Fage 0%.

img_5647

Oikos 5.3 oz Plain

Serving Size 1 Container
Amount Per Serving
Calories 90 Calories from Fat 0
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 0g 0%
Sat Fat 0g 0%
Trans Fat g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 60mg 3%
Total Carbohydrate 6g 2%
Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
Sugars 6g
Protein 15g 30%
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 20% Iron 0%
*Percent Daily Values are based on
a 2,000 calorie diet.
OUR FAMILY RECIPE: CULTURED PASTEURIZED ORGANIC NONFAT MILK. CONTAINS FIVE LIVE AND ACTIVE CULTURES INCLUDING L. ACIDOPHILUS, BIFIDUS, AND L. CASEI.

This was thick, tangy and smooth.  Infinitely tastier than the Vanilla variety, this has the “true” Greek flavor I have come to love and expect when it is marked to be such.

Fage 0%

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 1 cup (2 servings per container)


Amount per Serving

Calories 120 Calories from Fat 0

% Daily Value *
Total Fat 0g 0%
Saturated Fat  0g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat  0g
Polyunsaturated Fat  0g
Trans Fat  0g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 85mg 4%
Potassium 0mg 0%
Total Carbohydrate 9g 3%
Dietary Fiber  0g 0%
Sugars  9g
Protein 20g 40%

Calcium 25%

This was a little thicker than the Oikos, but less tangy.  They are probably equally smooth.

Which is better? Hard to say!  I’m going to have to cop out and call it a draw… I’ve been eating Fage for years.  The first time I had Greek yogurt was when I was on a trip to France during the heat wave in high school.  It was served with honey, at room temperature, and although I can say with 100% certainty that it was NOT fat free, it was the most delicious thing I’d ever tried. So when we saw it being sold in the grocery stores… well, you’ve all tasted it, so you know the rest! So, to bring this tangent to a close, I would be more than happy eating either Fage or Chobani.

Dinner tonight was fast and easy because I cooked the beans during the day! (Dry beans and lentils are so much cheaper, and although they can be a little bit of a hassle, it’s really worth it.)

img_5651

The recipe was from the March 2009 issue of Gourmet, in the “Quick Kitchen” section, for Tomatoey Spiced Chickpeas.

img_5648

The only changes I made to the recipe were to substitute cilantro for parsley (gasp!) and quarter the ingredients.

I served it with Oikos and Kashi Original Pilaf, and garnished it with some extra cilantro and mint.

img_5649

This was so, so good. Perfect combination of textures and tastes (tangy/creamy, spice/sweet, nutty) and left me completely satisfied.  The magazine gave a suggestion for how to use the leftovers, which I might try for dinner tomorrow!

Dessert, which I’m about to eat, will be dark chocolate and prunes and dates with almond butter.

img_5652

I’m going to settle in bed and watch part of a movie and hit the hay. It’s a good life!

Bonne nuit 🙂

5 responses to “Cheap & Tasty

  1. That dinner and dessert look so good!! I see you decided to give your abs and arms some love today? haha! Looks like you had such a good workout!

  2. breadandwithit

    What a great day! You’re so right that Life is Good!

    I prefer Fage, and I LOVE that it’s made in upstate New York dairy country. I’ve tried the other brands of “Greek” yogurt, and to me they taste thin and a bit “artificial”. I’ll try another comparison.

    How’s your fracture?

  3. Life is good, even when you hear the sonic boom from the kitchen announcing that man’s best friend has just pulled your dinner (yes, the batch for the entire week) in its pyrex nest off the counter. Mounds of shattered glass on the kitchen floor and the culprit proudly dragging his haul under the dining room table.

    I saw that recipe in Gourmet, too. It looked so good. I love your added touches.

  4. Pingback: Banana Recovery « Lilveggiepatch

  5. Pingback: The End of An Era « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

