The End of The Affair

Well, it’s happened. Chefmate and I have decided to take some time off. Rather, I broke his glass basin and he retaliated by fudging my morning fix. I rigged it up so the coffee would brew right into my mug…

img_5627

… but alas, Chefmate wasn’t having any of it.

img_5628

After some elaborate straining I got a single cup, but I don’t think we’re going to stay friends after this.

Thursday mornings are pretty luxurious because class doesn’t start until 3, so I whipped up a big pot of steel cut oats.

img_5631

In the pot:

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups skim milk
  • 1 tbsp flax meal
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • raisins
  • dried apples
  • 1 banana

In my individual bowl (the pot makes four servings), I piled on the toppings (there’s oatmeal underneath, I promise).

img_5633

  • 1/2 Ambrosia apple
  • mixed nuts (hazelnuts, walnuts, pecans, cashews, and 1 brazil nut for selenium)
  • cinnamon
  • brown sugar

img_5635

The apple was a great addition and went really well with all the nuts. Stove-top oats are great not only because they taste better, but if I’m going to spend the time preparing them I might as well make a lot and have breakfast taken care of for the next few days.

Do you make anything in batches for the week, like oatmeal or rice?

Last up: you’ve seen them everywhere, but now enter for a chance to WIN some PURE bars over at Carrots ‘n Cake!

Have a happy Thursday!

8 responses to “The End of The Affair

  1. Thanks for the shout out!

  2. Aw man – that coffee problem would have bummed me out! The only thing I cook in batches is baked tofu 😉

  3. yea I like making a couple days worth of oatmeal and keeping it in the fridge to microwave on early mornings. How long did those steel-cut oats take to cook?

  4. oh those oats look SO hearty for breakfast!

  5. happy Thursday! I never thought of almond extract in oats- might need to experiment with that!

    I don’t make anything in batches, though I cook my oats the night before and eat them cold!

  6. Pingback: Rise and Shine in Sunny St. Paul « Lilveggiepatch

  7. Pingback: Banana Recovery « Lilveggiepatch

  8. Pingback: “I feel the adrenaline running through my veins…” « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

