Rise and Shine in Sunny St. Paul

6a00e554e79848883301116892610e970c-800wi1

Morning and happy FRIDAY!  I have no class today so I stayed up late watching L.A. Story and still got 8 hours of sleep.  If you haven’t seen this, rent it now! It’s already one of my favorites… it reminded me a lot of Punch-Drunk Love, which is also genius (and one of my top 5) if you haven’t seen it.

For breakfast I re-heated yesterday’s oatmeal base and added quite a few other toppings.  The addition of almond extract to the cooking oats is definitely something I’ll be doing again; the aroma was so much stronger this morning and smelled like marzipan.

img_5656

  • 1/2 Ambrosia apple
  • 2 chopped dates (added before microwaving, to soften)
  • cinnamon
  • mixed nuts (cashews, walnuts, hazelnuts, pecans, 1 Brazil nut)
  • 1/2 tsp honey

I think I’m going to keep using the coffee maker until I run out of the ground coffee I already have… it only makes a cup at a time and is a little messy, but it still works!

img_5657

My aunt and uncle are coming in and we’re going to Trotter’s for lunch.  I haven’t been in a while, and it’s one of my favorite Minnesota cafés. Having family nearby has definitely made my college experience more enjoyable!

Any plans for the weekend? Have a lovely Friday!

5 responses to “Rise and Shine in Sunny St. Paul

  1. Have fun at lunch! That breakfast combo looks super yummy! For the weekend- I am going to my sisters baby shower in Connecticut! Other than that….ummm relaxing at some point (hopefully!)

  2. Hooray for no classes and for fun activities planned – enjoy your Friday!! 😀

  3. have a FUN friday! yaay for no classes 😀

  4. I adore almond extract! Always makes the house smell so good!

    Have fun today with your family!!

  5. cleanveggiex3

    delicious breakfast! i have never had almond extract but i would assume it smells amazing!

Leave a Reply

