Sushi-Grade Cornbread

Afternoon! This is going to be quick (how many posts have I started with that disclaimer? Don’t answer that…) because I am in the library where I am meant to “learn” and not blog.  Blogging can be a learning and teaching process too, but that is a tangent for another day.  Moving back to food, my grandparents and I went to Redstone American Grill for lunch today, and it was quite a treat, let me tell you!

My grandparents went last weekend, so they knew all the tricks. Trick #1: mimosas are FREE if you ask! We asked.

img_56891

Trick #2: the table was also brought a giant (read: plate-sized) complimentary sticky bun.

img_56911

I just love free things!  It was pretty good, and I picked at it all through lunch, but I’m a sticky bun snob and nothing beats Mama Patch’s pecan rolls (vintage LVP).  I also had some coffee with 2%… I don’t think “fat free” are words that are frequently uttered at Redstone, but that was just fine.

img_5693

We ordered a skillet of cornbread to share, and I have to say that this was, hands-down, the best cornbread I have ever had. The consistency was perfect; I’m a believer of actual corn kernels being integrated into the mix in addition to cornmeal, and they had this down pat.

img_56971

It was served with maple butter which was pure heaven.  Don’t worry, I brought some home and will be enjoying it with dinner.

img_5698

For my entrée, I ordered the Seared Ahi Tuna:  sesame seed and black pepper crusted sushi grade tuna,  Asian slaw, wasabi, and soy-lime sauce. This was technically a “small plate,” but with all the sweet breads it was more than enough.

img_5702

Well, time to end the fun and get a-crackin’ for the week ahead.  It’s really nice out so I’m hoping to finish up here and squeeze in an outdoor run… it’s going to be rainy the rest of the week so this might be my only chance.  Hope you’re having a nice day!

9 responses to “Sushi-Grade Cornbread

  1. Sushi and cornbread! HA! I’m that way, though, I eat what I want and so what if it doesn’t really go together. Your sushi could take any bowl of chili in a street fight.

    Enjoy the end of the weekend!

  2. A COMPLIMENTARY sticky bun?!?!?!??! I need to hit up that place…

  3. Amazing lunch!

  4. That sticky bun looks out of control but in the best way possible! Free mimosas?! I’m there!

  5. Mmmm!! That sticky bun looks like it could be bigger than my head! I LOVE IT!

  6. haha what a nice combination for lunch! corn bread + sushi = anytime 🙂

  7. sticky buns/ cinnamon rolls were probably my favorite food ever growing up….unfortunately I haven’t had one in ages, but when I was younger my mom made them fresh every easter morning..ahh the good ol’ days! haha!

  8. It all looks amazing, especially the sticky bun!

  9. Pingback: What Was She Thinking? « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

