Hello Dreary

Morning! Sorry I disappeared last night… the internet was not cooperating. Pretty tiresome, isn’t it?

Last night I didn’t have time to make a real dinner before class, so I heated up this guy.

img_5727

Palak Paneer is one of my favorite dishes to get when we have Indian, so my hopes were not high for this frozen version.

img_5730

But… it was surprisingly good! It was a little mild (“medium spiced”) so I added (surprise) chili flakes.  I also had two rebel (unpeeled) carrots.

img_5733

While it was “cooking,” I tried something I’ve been meaning to for months: Gliding Calm’s toasted tempeh PB&J. It sounds weird, but tempeh is really just a chunky grain, so it’s not surprising that this tasted great! Way to go, Miss GC. I’ll be having this one again!

img_5732

During class (which was unfortunately interminable… Tidal Wave has no redeeming qualities) I had a Rachel’s yogurt.

img_5734

Around 10:30 before bed, I had a Peanut Butter Chocolate Luna Cookie.

img_5735

Don’t they look just like baby Z bars?  I heated them up, Megan-style (whom I miss very much), to get the full melty chocolate  effect.  It was… okay.  I definitely did not feel like I could trick myself into thinking it was a cookie, like I can with Chocolate Chip Z Bars.  The peanut butter flavor was kind of protein bar esque, so i don’t know if I would buy it again.

This morning I got to sleep an extra two hours late because my professor canceled class due to overwork.  See, even professors get stressed out! Sorry about that… I appreciated the extra Z-time, though.

I’ve had this sample of Banana Nut Cheerios in my pantry for a while now, and thought it was about time to whip it out to review.  I ate it with skim milk, a banana and a few walnuts/pecans.

img_5736

Product Review: Banana Nut Cheerios

Servings:   of 3/4 cup 1 cup 1 container (8 3/10 cups ea.)
Calories 100
Sodium 160 mg
Total Fat 1 g
Potassium 120 mg
Saturated 0 g
Total Carbs 23 g
Polyunsaturated 1 g
Dietary Fiber 1 g
Monounsaturated 1 g
Sugars 9 g
Trans 0 g
Protein 1 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Vitamin A 10 %
Calcium 10 %
Vitamin C 25 %
Iron 25 %


Pros: definite “banana” taste, like a banana chip.  Sweet, although it’s sometimes too sweet, depending on how many Cheerios sneak onto the spoon.

Ingredients: Whole Grain Corn, Sugar, Whole Grain Oats, Brown Sugar Syrup, Corn Syrup, Canola and/or Rice Bran Oil, Salt, Dried Corn Syrup, Banana Puree, Corn Bran, Corn Starch, Modified Corn Starch, Trisodium Phosphate, Color Added, Sodium Citrate, Natural Flavor, Natural Almond Flavor, Wheat Flour. Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols) and BHT Added to Preserve Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin C (Sodium Ascorbate), Zinc and Iron (Mineral Nutrients), a B Vitamin (Niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin Mononitrate), Vitamin A (Palmitate), a B Vitamin (Folic Acid), Vitamin B12, Vitamin D3.

Cons: Only 1g of protein and 1g of fiber.  Had I not added banana and nuts I would probably be hungry in about twenty minutes!

Would I buy this again? Probably not, but I would eat it as a cereal base if it were around.  I’m a bit spoiled with other cereal varieties that pack in tons of protein and fiber, as well as other vitamins and minerals, and this just doesn’t cut it on its own.

Time to start the day, once again.  It’s already snowed once and is now pouring down rain, but hopefully it won’t be too gloomy.  Have a happy Tuesday!

7 responses to “Hello Dreary

  1. OMG those carrots look like amputated legs… 😀

    How do you take pictures during class?? :/

  2. hm I had high hope for the banana cheerios, bummer that they’re just ok (nutritionally and a little sweet). Thank you for the review!

  3. Darn it cheerios! Jump on the Kashi train – fiber and protein!

    I love your rebel carrots 🙂 Peel shmeel!

  4. looks so yumz!

  5. BAHAHAHA yayo! Katie tried the PB n J tempeh!!! told you it was good!!!!!!!!!

    i had indian tonight too….NOOO WAYYYY! 😉

  6. I miss Megan too. 😦

    Thanks for reviewing that cereal. I was just thinking about how I wanted to try it, but would probably be disappointed. I guess buying plain and adding bananas is a better idea.

  7. Pingback: No Breaky Pics, but 2 Reviews to Make Up for it! « Gliding Calm

Leave a Reply

