Oh baby baby have you seen Amy tonight?

Good afternoon! This is going to be a monstrously long post… but I had to do the Brit justice! But first, I’ll backtrack to the food part of my day, since that is, presumably, what this blog is supposed to be about.

I had coffee with my prof at Cosmic Coffee and got a skim chai with a shot of espresso. It was made with powder instead of liquid chai, which made it really sweet, so I only drank about 1/3.

img_5796

For dinner, I went to the French house for a traditional Senegalese meal to celebrate Senegal’s Independence Day. I had fish, vegetables, rice, a black bean patties, and a couple types of sauce. It was so good that I went back for more rice and veggies! The rice had a real smoky flavor… I wonder how I can re-create that.

img_5798

When I stopped to get cash on the way to the show, I had to buy some chocolate. I’m sure Brit wouldn’t mind.

img_5799

Parking wasn’t so bad but getting to the lot was kind of a nightmare. It seemed like everyone in the Twin Cities was there! I had one overpriced ($7.50!) Michelob Golden Light at the show.

img_5800

We got to our seats just as the Pussycat Dolls were finishing their set with “When I Grow Up,” which was the only one I’d even heard before! Pretty catchy, though. They were all wearing matching sequined outfits in Target’s colors (white/silver & red).

Anyway, the Britney part of the show was AMAZING, and I’m not just talking about the shoe-age from all the girls in the audience! I went a little crazy and took a lot of video clips and was in the process of uploading them before I realized that that might infringe on Brit’s copyrights, so I’m just going to share some bad quality nosebleed-section photos instead.  You can still kind of see the awesomeness of her set and costumes, though…

She was often in a cage.  I think this was during “Piece of Me,” my favorite B-Spears song. I love her sass.

img_5818

She played everything I’d hoped, including “Toxic,” “Gimme More,” “Baby One More Time” (where were you when you first heard Britney Spears? 🙂), “Radar,” etc. There was also an odd video to Marilyn Manson’s version of “Sweet Dreams…”
img_5822

There was a lot of fire…

img_5835

She went out in a sea of sparks, closing with “Womanizer.”

img_5838

Definite A+. The only lowlight was not having the foresight to take note of where in the parking lot we left the car, which led to some post-midnight anxiety and a lot of searching in the cold. We finally found it, though… good thing a security guard reminded us that we could just look on our ticket.  Whoops.

This morning I woke up to a call from my landlord saying he was coming over to change the water heater (yay for a shower longer than 3 minutes!) in an hour, so I rolled out of bed and went for a short run so I’d have time to clean up before he got here and shut off the water.

Before I left, I had 1/2 banana with a little smidge of almond butter.

img_5839

Total time: 35:26 minutes

Total distance: 3.33 miles

Maximum heart rate: 201 (101%?!)

Average heart rate: 180 (90%)

Calories burned: 428

For “breakfast” (at noon), I had waffles! I only had two left in the freezer and had been saving them all week so I’d have a nice Saturday meal.

img_5844

First, I heated up an apple with cinnamon, lemon juice, and about 1 tsp brown sugar.

img_5843

Then I topped two Kashi waffles with Oikos plain Greek yogurt and the apple mixture.

img_58451

Pretty delicious. Unfortunately I opened the newspaper to find some really sad news. This is, I think, the third time within a month that something like this has happened. Time to wake up.

img_5848

The rest of the weekend will be devoted to w-o-r-k. Senior week is only a month from now, and graduation is in a month and a half. Thinking about that is a good way for me to push through it and keep things in perspective. What are you looking forward to that helps you get through [potentially unpleasant] things like a job or schoolwork?

Have a fabulous Saturday!

5 responses to “Oh baby baby have you seen Amy tonight?

  1. Oooh, love the Senegalese meal.

    Great concert photos!!

    Hang in there with school, girl!!

  2. oh my gosh – that britney spears concert must’ve been mindblowing!

    i’m so glad you had a fun night!

  3. YAY Britney!! She has come so far from Baby One More Time! Glad you had a blast!

  4. Glad Britney was fun!! I remember listening to baby one more time in like, what jr high? or earlier?! I don’t remember!

    And yum that breakfast looks good, I wish I could jump on the waffle train….but, there is no room in my mini freezer!

    Knowing summer is close (meaning home, family, a kitchen, HS friends) keeps me wanting to stay busy and get my stuff done so that it just comes faster!

Leave a Reply

