Come sail away…

I don’t know why, but I woke up with Styx in my head and it really needs to leave.  Maybe that Frederick Douglass audiobook I’m downloading for the car trip will remedy that…

withnailandi460

Last I watched Withnail & I as I was going to bed.  Netflix thought I’d like it because it’s “cerebral,” which sounds a little hoity toity but it was really good and I actually laughed a lot, out loud, by myself (something that rarely happens… reading Me Talk Pretty One Day on public transportation is an embarrassing exception).

I snacked on an apple while watching.

img_5866

This morning I woke up, without an alarm, at 7:30.  I was all ready to roll out of bed and go for a run, but then I noticed that it had, once again, snowed.  Maybe I’ll hit the gym later if I have time, but today’s looking pretty busy from this view.  Instead, I opted for two more hours of sleep until hunger finally dragged my sleepy self up.  I’m out of fruit, but I compensated with a nice big bowl of nutty pumpkin hot cereal.

img_5867

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup 10 grain hot cereal
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 tsp flax meal
  • dried fruit: 2 dates, 1 fig
  • pumpkin
  • cinnamon
  • brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp chunky peanut butter

Then I read my Sunday goodies…

img_5868

What part of the newspaper do you read first? On Sundays, I always go for Sunday Styles, then the Book Review, then the Week In Review in case I’ve missed something big. Got my priorities straight, hmm?

Did you see this article about a blogger who fell in love with one of her commenters and is now marrying him?  I don’t know about marriage, but keep the flattery coming, guys!

img_5869

I’m off to have lunch with my grandparents, then it’s back to campus to workworkwork.  Have a fabulous Sunday!

9 responses to “Come sail away…

  1. Now that song is stuck in my head too 😛

  2. awesome breakfast and what a funny article!

  3. LOVE THE HOT CEREAL!! And that song is in my head now too 😉

  4. Now I’ve got that song stuck in my head too! Thanks a lot!! 😉

  5. awwww oh my gosh – that article is so cute! have a great time with your grandparents!

  6. hmmm, it’s too bad my dad is the only guy who reads my blog! haha.

    even if i don’t fall in love through my blog I have made some great friends whom I love dearly, which is good enough for me!

    Have a great day with the grandparents : )

  7. She must not get very many comments 😉

    Wouldn’t that be funny if she got one comment every day and they were all from “Joe?”

  8. yum, your pumpkin oatmeal always makes me want to go out and buy canned pumpkin….but then I always forget!

    have fun with the grandparents!! I’m guessing some yummy desserts will be consumed?! you always eat the best stuff when you’re out with the fam!

  9. breadandwithit

    Was it the N-Yorker piece about the book tour? if so, was it the exchange with the special ed teacher?
    I chuckled so hard that a couple of fellow passengers asked to read the magazine, and they loved it too. When he’s “on”, there’s no one funnier.

Leave a Reply

