Take it to the streets

Greetings! Sadly another weekend is drawing to a close. Sunday might be my favorite day of the week, even though it means another school week is fast approaching.

My grandparents and I forgot that today was Palm Sunday (whoops!) which meant that almost every restaurant was packed for brunch. We finally got into D’Amico & Sons, which was surprisingly (or not so surprisingly) empty. Although I like their to-go sandwiches at Target (they’re only about $3), I’m not a huge fan of their sit-down restaurants. They do serve “salads,” but they’re already pre-mixed and loaded with oil and creamy dressings and usually require a spoon to dish out. Nevertheless…

I ordered a small cup of tomato basil soup

img_5870

… and a trio of three salads: mixed greens (which they loaded with dressing before I had a chance to ask for it on the side, but that was probably my fault), roasted golden beets with feta, and mixed vegetables with mozzarella.

img_5871

I probably should have just gotten a big bowl of soup, since I enjoyed it the most (with one of the three slices of bread). The beets weren’t bad, either, and I always love big balls of mozzarella. The vegetables were so greasy, though, and the chickpeas were barely cooked through. Regardless of the less-than-stellar meal, it was really nice to see my grandparents, as usual. I’m spending the night on Wednesday for Passover, which I’m really excited about. Because it always falls right after spring break, I haven’t been able to spend Passover with my family or friends since college started (although we did create our own mildly disastrous seder freshman year). I’m really looking forward to it!

I stopped at Target on the way back from lunch to pick up some supplies. They were giving out samples of the new Chocolate Mocha Fiber One bars… they were okay, but I probably wouldn’t buy a whole box.

img_5873

While I was shopping I started to get really stressed out about all my schoolwork, and I knew there was only one thing that would really make me feel better. Although I wanted to pretend that thing was chocolate-covered graham crackers from Starbuck’s, I canceled my coffee date with Greg (very sad) and went for a run instead. My calves were really tight so I didn’t go too far, but I felt so much better. I decided to run on the grass today to challenge myself a little more, and I really liked it! The snow was melting so it was a little muddy, though.

Total time: 29: 50 minutes

Total distance: 2.85 miles

Maximum heart rate: 194 (97%)

Average heart rate: 171 (86%)

Calories burned: 330

I was going to do some yoga but I’d left my laptop in the car so I just did some plank holds and ab exercises instead. As usual, Betty Ford tried to “help,” but I was feeling kind and let him roam around instead of locking him in the bedroom.

I had an I-miss-my-momma snack afterwards: a Fuji apple and some extra-sharp white cheddar afterwards. I definitely OC-ed (Over Cheese-ed) today!

img_5874

I was still feeling snacky and remembered I had these nuts that my grandmother passed on to me about a month ago.

img_5875

Product Review: Planter’s Nut-Rition Energy Mix

Ingredients: ALMONDS, HONEY ROASTED SESAME STICKS (WHEAT FLOUR, SOYBEAN OIL, SESAME SEEDS, BULGUR WHEAT, MALTODEXTRIN, HONEY, SUGAR, WHEAT STARCH, SALT, XANTHAN GUM, BEET POWDER AND TUMERIC {VEGETABLE COLORS}, SOY LECITHIN, POPPY SEEDS, MILK), PEANUTS, WALNUTS, PECANS, SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE, COCOA BUTTER, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, VANILLIN – ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR), SUGAR, OIL ROASTED SOYNUTS (SOYBEANS, SOYBEAN OIL), PEANUT AND/OR COTTONSEED OIL, SALT, HONEY, CORN SYRUP, ARTIFICIAL COLOR (BLUE 2 LAKE, YELLOW 6 LAKE, YELLOW 5 LAKE, RED 40 LAKE), GUM ARABIC, CONFECTIONER’S GLAZE, CARNAUBA WAX, BEESWAX, XANTHAN GUM. CONTAINS: ALMOND, WHEAT, SESAME SEED, SOY, POPPY SEED, PEANUT, WALNUT, PECAN. MANUFACTURED ON EQUIPMENT THAT PROCESSES OTHER TREE NUTS.

Nutritional Facts

Serving Size 0.25 cup

Servings Per Container 8

Calories

190

Calories from Fat

Amount Per Serving

% Daily Value*

Total Fat 15.0 g

23.0%

Saturated Fat 2.0 g

10.0%

Trans Fat 0.0 g

Polyunsaturated Fat 6.0 g

Monounsaturated Fat 7.0 g

Cholesterol 0.0 mg

0.0%

Sodium 105.0 mg

4.0%

Potassium 160.0 mg

5.0%

Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g

4.0%

Dietary Fiber 3.0 g

12.0%

Sugars 5.0 g

Protein 5.0 g

Vitamin A

0.0%

Vitamin C

0.0%

Calcium

4.0%

Iron

6.0%

Vitamin E

10.0%

Phosphorus

10.0%

Magnesium

15.0%

Copper

15.0%

Manganese

30.0%

I portioned out half a serving (1/8 cup) because this stuff is like CRACK. It’s more than just plain ole nuts- it has salt and honey-roasted topping on it, among other things! It’s really good, but I think it could be potentially dangerous to have around so I don’t know if I would buy it myself. I’d have to portion out individual servings, because I’m the girl at the party who stands with her hand in the chip bowl the whole night! (I just went back into the can as I typed that.) So, Planter’s, I love you, but we need to take it slow. There are some other varieties of Nut-rition that look interesting (smoked almonds, anyone?) that I might be more apt to buy, I just don’t trust myself when chocolate and sesame sticks are in the same container!

Okay, play time is over… time to put away the nuts hit the books. See you later, sugarpies!

9 responses to “Take it to the streets

  1. Lovely soup & salad; and thank you for the product review!!

  2. At least the tomato soup was tasty!

  3. i’ve seen those nuts before and i’ve been really tempted by them, but I know myself and i know that they would be gone within 2 days and then i would feel horrible so i’ve never gotten them.

    Have a good night and a great day TOMORROW!! please don’t hold any embarrassment or awkwardness against me : )

  4. Thank you for the product review. Good luck with your school work.

  5. I had no idea one could ever OC! That’s blasphemy! I definitely didn’t realize today was Palm Sunday – glad you guys found some place to go!

    Good luck with the school work 🙂

  6. apple + cheddar cheese.. yum! i’d probably get really weird and add some wasabi to it.

  7. Pingback: A little bit of this, a little bit of that « Lilveggiepatch

  8. smart girl to run–run a lap for me–good luck w/your paper

  9. Pingback: Snacky McSnackerton « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

