Best of Both Worlds

Evening! Sorry about the delayed post… I’ve been moving around all day.

I drove straight to Dunn Bros. from my grandparents’ house to study.  When I got there, I looked around and didn’t see the biscotti rack anywhere… turns out they have STOPPED SELLING THEM because no one was buying! This is HORRIBLE news… had I known, I would have gone more often. Sophmore year I literally went every day and got a chocolate hazelnut biscotti and a latte… I swear it helped my brain run.  So listen, Dunn Bros., if I don’t graduate it’ll be because of you!

I got a regular coffee with skim milk and a yogurt.

img_5987

The yogurt had HFCS in it… Old Home , I am really disappointed in you.  That yogurt is pretty much the only healthy food option at the shop; everything, although it looks delicious, is of the apple fritter/glazed donut variety.

The rest of my lunch was in two more parts: Shrimp Spring rolls with peanut sauce from Whole Foods:

img_5988

… and a Maple Nut Clif bar.

img_5990

When I got to school, I had a surprise package waiting from my parents: dark-chocolate covered matzos and some easter candy.  Yep, I’m one of those crazy kids who comes from a mixed background.  It’s pretty great- I get to celebrate so many holidays!

img_5991

I ate a caramel-filled chocolate egg before Step.  Just the pick-me up I needed!

img_5994

Step was hard today, although for some reason I didn’t get the kinds of stats I usually get. After class, I did an twenty minutes on the bike (about 4 miles) while I read a magazine.  I really didn’t want to run on the treadmill, and I guess a little cross-training is good for me.  I also did some arm and back work, but let my abs be.

Total time: 1 hour 45 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 195 (98%)

Average heart rate: 126 (63%)

Calories burned: 676

I’m not going to lie to you: one of the reasons I stayed late in the gym was because I wanted to wait for dinner because there was a taco bar in the cafeteria! I ate the “insides”: ground tofu, brown rice, refried beans, cheese, lettuce, tomato, and salsa.

img_5995

I also had some steamed broccoli with BBQ sauce:

img_5998

And a grapefruit which I proceeded to get all over myself.

img_5999

I’m now snacking on some chocolate-covered matzo, dates and figs (which are dry and leathery compared to my beloved Nutra Figs) with the remaining half of my Barney Butter sample. I always thought I used a tablespoon or so of nut butter at a time, but I guess I use less than I think! (Yes, I notice when the word “I” appears in a sentence 5 times, too.) I had extra, so I smeared it on the matzo. Holy yum.

img_6000

Off to do some reading.  Do you have the day off tomorrow? I do, but I don’t have class Friday anyway so it’s no biggie… I’m happy for you, though!

Sorry for the rambling post… more so than usual, I mean.  My amazing friend Caitlin has started her very own blog… check it out! She’s brilliant.

Have a great night!

8 responses to “Best of Both Worlds

  1. I have to work tomorrow. 😦 But, everyone else will be off and traffic will be light!

    The spring rolls look so good!

    I was always jealous of my friend who got to celebrate a lot of holidays because of her background. 🙂

  2. I’m the same way, my family lights the menorah on christmas day at my dads! haha!!

    And yum, just ate an annie’s mac n’ cheese dinner….it was SO GOOD, thought you’d like to know! 🙂 I also threw hot sauce and a crumbled veggie burger in it this time! I’m gettin’ riskayy!

  3. collegencats

    I’m a new blogger but have been reading yours for a while now! Happy passover 🙂 definitely my favorite holiday (Matzo Ball soup!)

  4. CARAMEL!! STEAMED BROCCOLI!! Love ’em both 😀

    I’ve been off since Thursday (no classes until Tuesday = Easter break!!).

  5. NO BISCOTTI?! That should be illegal!

    Chocolate matzo sounds so good! No break for this girl, I get to go take an exam!

  6. BOO I totally have to work all weekend. SO jealous!

    That sucks about the biscotti, maybe you could start bugging them about it until they decide to sell it again…supply and demand?

  7. Is it just me or is Old Home the worst name for a food product?

  8. Pingback: Studying with the stars? « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

