Closer To Fine

Morning! It is BEAUTIFUL out.  It’s a very warm 43, the sun is shining, and best of all, it’s not supposed to rain (or snow) for at least a week! Spring has officially arrived, Minnesota.

Last night I was up late reading in bed, so I snacked on this apple.

img_6001

This morning I woke up and couldn’t go back to sleep because of a perplexing dream… about Barney Butter.  Oddly enough, the word that kept running through my head was Maranatha!  What does it all mean? I’m so weird! But, and I know this is pretty much blogger blasphemy, I think I may like Maranatha more than Barney Butter, almond butter-wise. I really like the graininess of the Maranatha; the Barney Butter sort of reminds me of Skippy. I still have one more sample pack to win me over, so I’ll keep you posted.

I had a bowl of Oikos Vanilla Greek yogurt mixed with instant coffee an hour before my workout.  I wanted the caffeine, but not the liquid sloshing around during my run. It was surprisingly good! The bitterness of the coffee and the sweetness of the vanilla really complemented each other.

img_6005

I had a great run, thanks to some new music I loaded onto my iPod (which I found in my bed, in case you were wondering).  Having something upbeat and fresh to sweat to really makes such a difference for me.

Total distance: 3.48 miles

Total time: 35:20 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 194 (97%)

Average heart rate: 169 (85%)

Calories burned: 381

I’ve been doing the same run for a couple weeks now, and either tomorrow or Sunday I’m going to try to mix it up a little to challenge myself.  I don’t want to burn out!

I picked this up on my last visit to Whole Foods, and have been waiting to incorporate it into my breakfast.

img_6006

It’s really dense (390 calories/19 grams of fat), but I thought it would make a perfect oatmeal topper.

img_6010

Starting with my almond extract/dried fruit/steel-cut oat base, I added:

img_6011

  • 1/6 Olympic Granola Chocolate Almond Trail Bar
  • pumpkin (more than usual, but I used up the can)
  • cinnamon

I was finally ready for some real coffee and my daily dose of Seth Rogen:

img_6012

The oats were missing crunch and sweetness, so I added hazelnuts, pecans, walnuts, and agave nectar. Much better!

img_6014

Breakfast ended up being pretty hearty, so lunch will probably be on the late side.  I’m not sure what today will hold; I might go to Open Book with my friend Katie to study.  What are your plans for the weekend, holiday or otherwise?

9 responses to “Closer To Fine

  1. Enjoy the nice weather!! It’s crappy here, haha.

    Weekend plans = Easter with the family.

  2. Barney butter reminds me of Skippy too! The sugar really took me by surprise.

  3. Mmm…Maranatha is my FAVORITE. Crunchy, of course.

    You know we are hiding eggs for the girls!!!

  4. You were dreaming about my man, Barney?! How dare you 😉 I’m intrigued by the yogurt/coffee combo!

    My plans: dinner at my Aunt and Uncles!

  5. That is an amazing idea with the instant coffee!!

  6. that yogurt + coffee is so creative!

  7. I agree on the barney vs maranthana butter…..maranthana definitely has less of that “skippy” taste, but I do love them both!!
    That whole foods granola bar seems like the perfect oatmeal add-on! Did it taste good with the oats??

    My brother and his wife are coming to visit me at school for the weekend!! So lots of eating out and movies/walking around campus will be on my agenda!! And I’m staying in their hotel, no dorm room for the weekend….yes!

  8. Awesome eats! I have one packet of instant coffee left and it may just be making it into my yogurt! So interesting!!

  9. i just tested the packets and kinda agree…i like a nuttier butter myself, but am in love with the “stick to the roof of your mouth” of BB!!!! just like when i was a kid 🙂

Leave a Reply

