Sleep The Clock Around

Heya.  Sorry for the delayed post; I’ve been out of the house all day, running around like a busy bee.

Last night before bed, I had a Stonyfield Farms nonfat blueberry yogurt topped with GoLean (Crunch & regular). That’s stress eating for ya!

img_6121

This morning for breakfast, I had my new favorite oatmeal alternative: cooked muesli. I microwaved 1/2 cup muesli with 1/2 cup skim milk, for about 3 minutes.  It takes a little longer to cook than oatmeal, but if you decide to make it for yourself, keep an eye on the microwave.  There’s nothing worse than an exploded mess at 8 AM.

img_6123

I sweetened it with some leftover light pear syrup

img_6125

…and added the other usual toppings.  They taste quite different when combined with hot muesli, though!

img_6126

  • 1/2 banana
  • pumpkin
  • 1/2-1 tsp chunky peanut butter

You can buy Michael Jackson’s velvet gloves, among other strange things.  As bizarre as Jacko is, I felt a little sad for him when I read that he’s shutting down Neverland.  A little.

img_6129

My prof brought some tempting treats to our session today that she picked up from The Butter Bakery Café.  The name says it all, but they were pretty good. I’d just eaten so I wasn’t very hungry, but try to sit in front of these babies for two hours and not say no!

Blueberry scone:

img_6130

Cinnamon pecan coffee cake:

img_6133

Frosted lemon poppyseed muffin:

img_6134

These aren’t usually my kind of thing, but they were pretty delicious.  I had a bite or so of each- I think the coffee cake was my favorite.

I went to the cafeteria for lunch so I could head straight to the library after.  I made a big salad with tofu, beets, mushrooms, carrots, cabbage, and peas, dressed in oil and vinegar.

img_6135

I kept lunch light because there was an “à la mode” bar today.  I got a vegan fruit crisp and topped it with fat free vanilla frozen yogurt instead of ice cream.  There was some backlash about this decision at my lunch table, but the crisp was so crumbly and delicious that I really couldn’t tell the difference.  I added a few mini chocolate chips, though, just in case.

img_6136

It was still steaming even after I got to the table and took my photos, which is a rarity.

img_6137

Before Step today I had an apple. (Yes, it’s balanced on my car.)

img_6138

Tuesday is my short day, so I only had 30 minutes of Step.  I got on the treadmill and put it on the “random” setting, planning to run a mile, but it was pretty horrendous. I haven’t run since Saturday and haven’t been on the treadmill since before Spring break, and it was just really unpleasant. I ended up stopping after only half a mile, which was discouraging, but better than being miserable.

Total time: 35:16 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 186 (93%)

Average heart rate: 144 (72%)

Calories burned: 291

It was another “inefficient” workout, but I think it’s because, although I took two rest days, my body is kind of exhausted with stress and resisting physical activity.  I’m going to try to keep pushing it, although not as hard as usual; exercise is one of the best ways for me to clear my head and boost my mood.

I had a Chocolate Chip Z bar after leaving the gym.  It was sitting on the sunny side of my car and was warm and gooey and mighty fine.

img_6139

I went to Whole Foods to do a mini shop for produce.  While there I decided to pick up some food from the hot bar and not worry about what to make for dinner.  I haven’t had it since Winter Break and I forgot how tasty it was! I don’t remember everything that went in there, but here’s what I do: Teriyaki tofu, Japanese baked tofu, jicama slaw, sesame kale, sesame broccoli, curried cauliflower, grilled zucchini/yellow squash, mixed greens, grilled pineapple (!) and my favorite: a small scoop of REAL macaroni and cheese.

img_6140

For dessert, I had a Chunky Monkey No-Pudge brownie.

img_6141

It’s not even 10 but I’m headed for bed. My schedule is a little off, but that comes with the territory this time of year! My blog reading is going to be a little behind for a few days, but as always, I will be thinking about you and love you all!

Bonne nuit 🙂

7 responses to “Sleep The Clock Around

  1. thresholdofgreatness

    I feel kinda bad for Michael Jackson too. I’ll see pictures of him when he was younger and think, what happened?

    Whole Foods hot bar is always an excellent dinner choice! 🙂

  2. grilled pineapple? :O 🙂

  3. Aw I had not heard about Micheal having to shut down neverland, that is kinda of sad.

    My schedule is so messed up to! Im in my pjs in bed right now too.

  4. Delicious baked goods from the prof!
    And I love the car-heated z-bar. I always microwave my z-bars… they’re so good when they’re hot!

  5. Whoa your whole foods hot bar is so legit!!!! I wish mine had all those goodies! Grilled pineapple and the different types of tofu sound delicioussss!! I’m so weird, I totally crave tofu at college because I never eat it here!

    And Katie, don’t stress, be happy! 🙂 At least you got a little workout in to clear your mind, a little is better than nothing!!

  6. Scone, coffee cake, muffin, Whole Foods goodies, brownie… HOLY YUM!!

    Hang in there with the work, girl!!

  7. Kashi Crunch is crack in a box! GRILLED PINEAPPLE – I loose my mind over that stuff!

    Sorry about the craziness 😦

Leave a Reply

