All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy

This no iced coffee thing is getting very strange. Today I went to a different place, and was told, “Yeah, we have it, but it’s being stored in something you can’t drink out of, so you can’t have it.” Um… oh-kay… you can keep that to yourself, thank you! So I got a hot coffee with skim and sugar (I’ve been using it again for some reason), but it was really hot out (I love that I can say that!) so I didn’t finish it.

img_6170

I snacked on an Apple Pie Larabar before and after Step.

img_6171

Class today was a lot sweatier than usual, which is odd because I’m still burning fewer calories than usual. Quite the conundrum!

Total time: 57:32 minutes

Maximum heart rate:178 (89%)

Average heart rate: 133 (67%)

Calories burned: 404

Dinner was quick, although this meal takes longer to cook than other frozen ones. Not that I’m going to complain about 10 minutes in the microwave! I had a coupon from Kashi for a free frozen entrée, and the ingredients (sweet potato, black beans, plantains, whole grains, etc) intrigued me.

img_6173

I really love the combination of tastes and textures in this meal. The sunflowers were really quite an excellent touch; the chewy crunch (somehow that makes sense, trust me) was fantastic.

img_6175

I wasn’t a huge fan of the grains, which were a little mushy. I did get some new ideas for my own cooking; a fresh recreation of this would be pretty superb. The plantains were my favorite part. I had a Jamaican babysitter growing up, and she used to make them for me all the time. (I spoke to her on the phone the other day and she promised to teach me how to make some Jamaican dishes I used to love, so look for those in the next couple months!) One of my best friends in Paris also had Jamaican parents and made plantains for us a lot, so I have a lot of happy associations with them.

I also had a small romaine/grape tomato side salad with a white balsamic/sesame oil/sesame seed/mustard dressing.

img_6177

And some liquid paper-writing fuel (it worked!):

img_6174

I celebrated finishing my paper with a great dessert: Stonyfield Farms After Dark Chocolate fro-yo with a Chunky Monkey No Pudge brownie and light canned peaches.

img_6196

I love how even though this tastes completely indulgent, it’s almost entirely “no pudge,” so to speak. Hi-ya, Coldstone!

Betty Ford has been totally rambunctious lately. My leg took the brunt of his energy tonight:

img_6190

Finally, he became transfixed by modern art and left me alone.

img_6193

I think I’ve mentioned his odd obsession with hair elastics and headbands, but it’s getting out of control.

img_6194

Somehow he can smell the elastic or something, because I always catch him nosing through my gym bag, right before he drags them through the litter box! Those won’t be going back in my hair, thank you very much.

img_6195

Anywho, enough tangents. I’m going to go veg (hehe) out and watch some telly. Have a great night!

6 responses to “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy

  1. hahaha even though I’m not much of a cat person, the cat pics are hilarious!

  2. I think that frozen dinner has been in my freezer for 4 months. Yipes.

    Have a great night!

  3. You”re on to something there with a cat who meditates to modern art. Congrats on the paper. I dream of those Jamaican recipes.

  4. It was really hot out!! I’m not complaining though! I commend you for having a little study vino – I was contemplating that while I was studying but decided not too. Next time, I’ll remember this post and give in!

  5. haha oh my gosh your cat is the most adorable thing I have ever seen!!

    don’t you just love when they decide to bite you and mess up your things…such brats! 😉 (i have a cat too at home, an old man now…..maybe 11 or 12!, but he’s still got spunk!)

    your salad’s lookin’ mighty fresh and that dessert…YUM!

  6. Pingback: Sunshine cleaning « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

