SPRINGFEST 2009!

Woot woot. As the title suggests, not a thing got done after 3 PM. Tomorrow is going to be TOUGH… but let’s get back to today!

I got a HUGE box in the mail today from Foodbuzz.

img_6241

Inside an elaborately wrapped styrofoam cube was a sample of Wild Mushroom Agnolotti from Buitoni’s new Riserva line. Can’t wait to try it out!

img_6253

I finally found my iced coffee, and I didn’t even have to go to Starbucks! Dunn Bros. came through in the end.  It was pretty bitter, so I added skim milk and sugar.  Oh, that’s Nate’s site in the background.  If you haven’t discovered the This Week in Blogs feature, check it out… it’s scarily (and hilariously) accurate!

img_6242

I also snacked on an Iced Oatmeal Raisin Luna bar while I was working.

img_6243

These ended up coming home with me when I went to Wallgreen’s to pick up some stuff… It was either that or Doritos! I had a big handful in the car, and was sad to discover that there was only ONE dried peach and TWO apple rings (NO pears!) and the rest of the bag was filled with apricots and prunes.

img_6244

And then… Springfest! Every hear my college has a sort of mini festival and has four or five bands come and play on the lawn.  This year Blackalicious, Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin, Japanther, Lucy Michelle & The Velvet Lapels, and The Muskies played.

I had a Finnegans (disguised as a Miller Light) in the beer garden.

img_6245

My friend Greg and I decided to order Pizza Luce for dinner.  I got my favorite sandwich EVER (well, one of my 573 favorites): Mock Chicken Parmigiana.

img_6247

I didn’t realize how hungry I was until I started eating… it was gone in under five minutes!  It wasn’t the healthiest thing, what with the fried patty and three different types of cheese, but it was Springfest.  My last Springfest EVER, might I add.

That mentality carried me to the Dairy Queen line, where I got a chocolate blizzard with Reese’s PB cups and cookie dough. Oof.  That I’ve waited this long to get my DQ on is actually quite a feat, considering that it is literally around the corner from my house.

img_6250

There were also some cheese samples at the grocery store (where I didn’t end up buying anything… it was all about the cheese) and pineapple chunks at my friend Katey’s piano recital (she kicked serious booty).  I’m in a bit of a food coma with my food baby right now, but at least it means I should fall asleep with relatively no problem! And, as I say, tomorrow is another day.  With no beer. Or Dairy Queen. Night!

10 responses to “SPRINGFEST 2009!

  1. oh i think your springfest at your college is like the sungod festival at UCSD! this year, we have N*E*R*D, Iron & Wine, Motion City Soundtrack, Sara Bareilles (*gasp*), Augustana, Girl Talk, The Cool Kids, DJ Nu-Mark, Grand Ole Party, Anavan, Nosaj Thing, Rootbeer and Theory of Funkativity.

  2. Hooray for Foodbuzz!!

    Mmm, cookie dough.

    HAVE FUN!!

  3. fun day! Blackalicious came here last year!

    I need a bizzard, it has been FAR too long. I used to have them like all the time during the summer but haven’t had one since! I need to get on that!

  4. Yeah for Dairy Queen treats!

  5. It is most def. an ice cream kind of weekend! I love your DQ creation.

  6. I spy Beloved! I would NEED a beer after that – I was not a fan of that book!

    That Blizzard = yum!

  7. That sounds like SUCH a fun day!!!

    A mock chicken sandwich sounds so good! I have never found a place that makes one of those babies!! And good choice with the DQ….if you gotta get the ice cream, it’s gotta have reese’s pb cups in it!

  8. Laura (On the Threshold of Greatness)

    Springfest looks like fun!

  9. breadandwithit

    I’m with ksgoodeats–Beloved is way overdue for going out of print.

    Thanks for the direction to “This Week in Blogs”. You can never have too much humor. Has Nate already surveyed the use of “Yum”?

  10. Yum! That looks and sounds like so much fun! I’m so glad you splurged little mama!
    BELOVED! Uh, light reading? 🙂 Such a good book but so upsetting all the same!!!

Leave a Reply

