Beanie Blogger Burgers

Is it Friday yet? No? Didn’t think so.  I’m probably going to be extremely tiresome and ask that every day until it actually is Friday, but please bear with me.

This afternoon after class (we had a guest lecturer about the role of French museums in globalization… very interesting), I had an apple.  I was walking down the stairs, so forgive the horrible picture! (To preserve the integrity of the blog I refrained from taking a photo of a new apple when I got home.)

img_6297

While making dinner, I snacked on some pickles which I discovered in the back of the fridge.  Pickles (especially these generic green-as-can-be pickles) seem to never go bad.

img_6298

I tried out two new recipes tonight.  Both were very quick, and very tasty!

A couple weeks ago Kath posted a great tutorial on homemade bean burgers.  I have a bunch of black beans in the fridge that I need to use up, and I LOVE black bean burgers whenever I have them.  The great thing about Kath’s recipe is that you can season your burger any way you want, and use almost any type of bean.

I used the last of my Annie’s BBQ sauce (less than 1 tsp) and some roasted red peppers as my “mix-ins.” It could look prettier…

img_6301

It ended up looking very “burger”-like, though! Quite a relief.

blackbean

I served it on an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin topped with extra sharp white cheddar, spinach, and lots of ketchup.

img_6310

This was so good. I’m so glad I know how to make my own burgers now! There might be a repeat in the near future…

img_6316

New recipe #2:

Quick Spring Pea Soup

Adapted from this recipe in April 2009 Bon Appétit

Serves 2-3

  • 1 cup frozen peas, divided in half
  • 1/2 cup diced yellow onion
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • pinch chili flakes
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground sage powder
  • nonfat plain yogurt

Sauté garlic and onion in oil until onion is tender, about 4 minutes. Add in chili flakes and cook for one more minute.  Add half the frozen peas (1/2 cup), vegetable broth, and spices; bring to a simmer. Remove from heat and let cool a couple minutes, then transfer to blender (in batches) and purée. (It kind of looks like a Green Monster, don’t you think?)

img_6302

Meanwhile, heat remaining peas in microwave. Season hot soup with pepper and ladle into bowls. Garnish with whole peas and yogurt, and additional chili flakes if desired.

img_6314

Very Spring meal.

img_6315

During class tonight, we did used Reese’s Pieces to help us understand climate. (Yes, this is one of those science classes for liberal arts majors/seniors who need their science requirement to graduate.) The yellow Pieces represent 18-O, and the brown 16-O. Don’t ask me tomorrow what that means.

I had far more than what is pictured.  What can I say, Reese’s are crack to me.

img_6317

That wasn’t enough dessert for me, so I had some dried fruit and almond butter (less than usual- about 1/2 tsp) when I got home.

img_6318

Tomorrow is going to be an even longer day than today, so I’m off to bed.  Hope your Monday has been fantastic! Bonne nuit 🙂

12 responses to “Beanie Blogger Burgers

  1. Yum! I have been awaiting your making of the infamous bean burger! Now now, I must ask you: 411 on Vital Wheat Gluten? What are your thoughts my lil beauty? I am SO excited whenever I hear the name (umm, what?), imaging the stuff like play-doh. I am guessing it is not THAT fun, BUT can create a FAB texture. We should do an experiment!!!

    Have a loverdo of a tuesday my scrumptious peanut!

  2. please excuse the grammatical NASTY that was my comment. je m’exuse. EWWWW. But it’s early, right? 😉

  3. omg. again. ok bye.

  4. Today (Tuesday) is my long day too 😦 Hang in there!! We’ll make it!!

  5. i cant even explain my love for reese’s pieces. omg. but of course I have absolutely ZERO self control around them so I mainly try to just avoid them at all costs!

  6. Sorry, but the “integrity of the blog” comment just made me laugh! 🙂 The burger looks great. Have a fantastic Tuesday!

  7. Nope, not Friday yet…but I’ll let you know when its close 😉

    I love the burgers, they look sooo good!

  8. I wish today was friday too 😉 Great bean burger- I actually think they’re really delicious. Maybe better than a real burger! Good luck with all of your to dos this week- we will make it through!!

  9. Whenever I make bean burgers I feel so accomplished and scoff at the frozen variety. Then I always go back. 😦

    Good news – it’s closer to friday than it was yesterday!

  10. Extra sharp white cheddar – now you’re speaking my language, lady! Looks like a fantastic bean burger was had!!

    As a science nerd I know what the O’s mean 😀 Gotta love using candy in class!!

  11. Loves the burger- will you make me one?

    Agreed, reeses are crack. All reeses products.

  12. Pingback: Pea green soup « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

