It’s a date nut morning

Morning! Hope you’ve all slept well, and if not, that you are adequately caffeinated to take on your day.

Before I get on to this morning, there’s visual evidence of a GoLean Crunch! looting last night. Whoops!

img_6319

I finally whipped out the great cookbook I won from Meg in a contest a few months ago.

img_6320

The “Date Shake” sounded really interesting, so I threw the ingredients in a blender:

img_6321

  • 1/5 block silken tofu (firm)
  • 1/3-1/2 cup skim milk
  • 2 chopped, pitted dates
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • squirt of agave
  • 2 ice cubes

My roommate was still sleeping so I took the blender down to the basement and blended my little heart out on top of the washing machine. The smoothie turned out light and frothy:

img_6322

This was so good. Really refreshing and completely different from what my palate is used to having in the morning. But… that might change because it’s sounding pretty good for tomorrow morning! I made a small amount so that I would be able to bulk up my meal with something a little more substantial…

img_6323

Oatnut toast with chunky peanut butter (running dangerously low), cinnamon, and half a banana. Scrumptious.

img_6326

I’m going to try to work from home today… my back and arms are getting really sore from carrying so many books around! So, I’m off to make coffee and get cracking.

I’ve been chewing SO much gum lately… a habit that I was pretty awful about in high school.  I even had a groove worked into the front left pocket of my jeans where a Doublemint package  fit perfectly! Anyway, Meghann is giving away the good stuff– chemical-free and full of glee. Check it out!

Have a great day!

8 responses to “It’s a date nut morning

  1. Good luck with your work!!

  2. Glad you found a recipe to try in the book! It looks delicious. I will have to try it!

  3. KASHI CRUNCH!!! That cereal is killer – it’s a serial killer 😉

    I had such a gum addiction that I couldn’t chew real food on one side of my mouth because my jaw hurt so bad!

  4. tofu and date shake sounds like a VERY cool recipe. glad to know that it turned out well!

    quick question: how does the agave nectar taste when compared to a smoothie?

  5. my name is ellie and I am a gumaholic!

    That book sounds great- I bought some tofu at the weekend and didn’t know what to do with it (when in doubt, BBQ sauce!)

    have a great day!

  6. Your shake looks very interesting. So does the cookbook.

  7. Whenever my brother and I go to any type of organic grocery store store…he always orders the same AMAZING date shake at the smoothie bars….you should try and make it if you have the ingredients!!! It’s something like soy milk, dates, bananas, cinnamon & vanilla rice dream!!! OH BABY!! I feel like I’m forgetting something, but it’s SOOO good!

  8. whoops store store……silly me!

Leave a Reply

