Collards and Cornbread In Aisle 10

Another Earth Day has come to a close… although I was running late several times today, I left the car at home and walked the [embarrassingly short] distance to school twice.  There’s only one light on in the apartment, and all the electrical cords that aren’t in use are unplugged… the only thing I can work on is the time I take in the shower. I’m almost always between the 5- 10 minute mark.  How long does it take you to shower?

I haven’t had a chance to get to the grocery store yet, so I went to the cafeteria to load up on veggies.  To celebrate Earth Day, my dining hall featured a lot of meat and produce that traveled less than 200 miles to get to our plates.

I made a big salad with romaine, spinach, red pepper, spiced corn, green pepper, cukes, carrots, diced tomato/onion, and had some stewed seitan on the side.

img_63531

I’ve been hankering for pizza lately, and was really excited when I saw they had cheeseless “tofu bruschetta” pizza.

img_6354

The small bowl has lemon juice, mustard and olive oil for a vinaigrette. I also had some coffee with skim milk.

img_6355

Unfortunately, the pizza had absolutely no taste, so I took two bites and moved onto bigger and better things.  Good thing I did, because I made an amazing discovery: Peanut butter and jelly (not pictured) on apples is AMAZING. Seriously.  Go have one now.

img_6356

Lunch was pretty big so I didn’t think I’d need a snack, but my stomach was rumbling after class so I had 1/3 of a Brownie Z bar.

img_6357

It’s funny… I haven’t run in almost a week, but I’m really enjoying doing other forms of cardio that I used to shy away from.  Today I conquered my fear of the elliptical, which I used to find so boring that I’d get off after less than ten minutes.  Having Gilmore Girls to watch may have something to do with today’s elliptic-success, but it’s good to know that I can do it!

I did about 32 minutes on the elliptical, and then some abs.

Total time: 44:19 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 175 (88%)

Average heart rate: 142 (71%)

Calories burned: 354

Dinner took exactly 7 minutes to “make.”

img_6359

Product Review: Amy’s Southern Meal with Cornbread & Beans

Nutritional Facts
Serving Size: 1
Servings Per Container: 1
Serving Weight: 283 g
Calories: 340
Calories from Fat:90

% Daily Value
Total Fat: 10g 15%
Saturated Fat: 5g 25%
Trans Fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 25mg 8%
Sodium: 780mg 33%
Carbohydrates: 53g 18%
Fiber: 8g 32%
Sugars: 11g
Protein: 12g
%
Organic: 89%
Vitamin A: 100% • Vitamin C: 30%
Calcium: 15% • Iron: 20%

Pre-cooked:

img_6360

INGREDIENTS : 0G TRANS FAT � NO ADDED MSG � NO PRESERVATIVES ORGANIC PINTO BEANS, FILTERED WATER, ORGANIC SWEET POTATOES, ORGANIC COLLARD GREENS, ORGANIC SWISS CHARD, ORGANIC LOWFAT MILK, ORGANIC ONIONS, ORGANIC CORNMEAL, ORGANIC CORN, MUSHROOMS, GRADE AA BUTTER, ORGANIC TOMATO PUREE, ORGANIC WHEAT FLOUR, NONFAT YOGURT, ORGANIC EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, PIMIENTOS, CHEDDAR CHEESE, SEA SALT, ORGANIC GARLIC, EXPELLER PRESSED HIGH OLEIC SAFFLOWER AND /OR SUNFLOWER OIL, ORGANIC MAPLE SYRUP, ORGANIC CORNSTARCH, SPICES*, BAKING SODA, ORGANIC APPLE CIDER VINEGAR, ORGANIC BLACKSTRAP MOLASSES, BAKING POWDER, ORGANIC GREEN BELL PEPPERS, ORGANIC CELERY, ORGANIC BLACK PEPPER, NATURAL HICKORY SMOKE FLAVOR, MUSTARD SEEDS, GRAIN VINEGAR. CONTAINS MILK AND WHEAT. *100% PURE HERBS & SPICES (NO HIDDEN INGREDIENTS)

Post-microwave:

img_6363

Semi-civilized:

img_6364

The cornbread was creamy and delicious, and had chunks of whole corn. The greens were so good! They tasted just like the garlic swiss chard my mom makes.  The sweet potato was obviously good (hello, it’s a sweet potato!), but it was a nice change to have it in a whipped form. The beans were probably my least favorite, but I’ve never really been a “baked beans” girl.  Mixed with the cornbread and greens, they were pretty good.

This meal is pretty pricey. It cost about $4.50, and I’m pretty sure I could make a similar meal for myself (and have enough leftovers to eat several times) for that cost.  But, it was quick and easy, and the combination of foods is something I WOULD make for dinner from scratch.  So yes, I would buy this again!

My prof brought four different kinds of cupcakes and brownies to class today, knowing this is a pretty hard time of year.  I remembered how delicious the mini black forest cupcakes were, so I made a bee-line for them:

img_6366

X2. It’s been a hard four years week!

img_6365

I had a grapefruit when I got home, which I promptly dropped all over the floor.  No matter- just added some crunch!

img_6370

I’m going to try to get some work done so I’ll tire myself and hopefully not have trouble sleeping tonight.  Hope you’ve had a great Wednesday!

10 responses to “Collards and Cornbread In Aisle 10

  1. I LOOOOOOOVE Gilmore Girls. Love it. I am Lorelei, just a little less funny and cute.

    I’m going to try that PB&J apple…it sounds great!

  2. oh my gosh – you shower in between the 5 to 10 minute mark? that’s great! i know guys who take longer showers than that!

  3. I usually shower 5-15 mins….depends what needs to get done!! Washing my hair + shaving my legs always equals a longer one!

    Tv watching while elliptisizing always makes it go by way faster!! Glad you enjoyed it…AND whoaaa I have always been a fan of cornbread and your description of the greens makes me want to buy this meal now!! I’ve never considered it for some reason…I also had an Amy’s dinner tonight though!

  4. Ok,, I ate almost the exact same meal on the same plate during the same “eat local” earth day event in my dining hall today… am I correct in assuming Bon Appetit is your dining hall caterer too? I freakin’ love Bon Appetit.

  5. I shower about 5-10 minutes.

    Hooray for Amy’s meals!!

  6. 5-10 minutes to shower?! I am impressed. I always end up just zoning out in the shower and not wanting to get out, even though I have finished with all of my “cleaning” haha. Mine usually last about 20-30 minutes!

  7. PBJ always hits the spot! Thanks for the Amy’s review as it sounds fantastic! At first I thought the small bowl has a raw egg in it and I was a little concerned 😉

    I am embarrassed to admit how long my SCALDING hot showers are (I literally leave the shower beet red)!

  8. I have the exact same Amy’s meal waiting in my freezer! After your review, I’m REALLY craving it! 😉

  9. I try to keep my showers short, but the shower in my new apartment has terrible pressure so I end up staying in for much longer than I’d like…enviornment wise anyway (I love long hot showers and could stay in all day!)

    I want to try that Amy’s meal- my only cornbread experience was the amy’s chilli and cornbread meal and it was divine!

    have a great Thursday!

  10. You are one quick showerer… my best time’s been 20 🙂

Leave a Reply

