Happy Earth Day!

I’ve actually woken up every morning this week and thought that that day was Earth Day… but it really is today! I think.

Yesterday’s smoothie was so good that last night, while I was waiting (and waiting, and waiting…) for sleep to come, I thought about the one I would make this morning: Ginger Pear.

img_6344

  • 1/4 block silken tofu
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1 small pear
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger powder
  • agave nectar
  • 2 ice cubes

It needed a little something else, so I ran back upstairs (my roommate was sleeping again so I went to the basement to blend… check out the sweet digs!) and came back with some leftover light canned peaches. I ended up adding three slices, as well as a little of the syrup.

img_6347

It just fit in the glass! The consistency was, again, light and fluffy.

img_6350

I felt likeΒ  I was drinking Spring.

img_6352

From now until next Earth Day, I will make a conscious effort to buy more locally-grown and organic produce. I also want to plant a tree somewhere. Maybe my dad, green thumb gardener that he is, will have some ideas.Β  In the next month, I’m going to use my car as little as possible! What will you do, or do you already do, to help make the planet more sustainable?

Have a great day!

9 responses to “Happy Earth Day!

  1. I will continue to recycle and turn off the lights πŸ™‚

  2. I decided tonight after eating a disgusting apple that I am sticking to locally grown seasonal produce πŸ™‚

    happy Earth Day!

  3. Happy Earth day! I will actually USE my reusable grocery bags! — I always forget them!

  4. you make such creative smoothies!

    happy earth day! πŸ™‚

  5. breadandwithit

    I will vote for candidates who will support public transportation.

  6. Happy Earth Day! That is so funny that you say about thinking every day this week was Earth Day. I did the exact same thing and even today I asked my roommate if today was the “official” day. haha.

  7. Spring in a glass πŸ™‚

    Things I do: unplug electronics, turn off lights, go to the farmer’s market (when it’s open), and use refillable water bottles

    HAPPY EARTH DAY!!

  8. I love the smoothie! πŸ™‚

    Some of the things I already do – shop at farmer’s markets, use Sigg water bottle, use cloth grocery bags, and wash clothes in cool water.

  9. Pingback: The Earth Says Hello « Sweet Eats

Leave a Reply

