Nutty Leftovers and a Product Review

Good evening, lovepies. How is your Friday night? Mine has been okay… I’m going to try to make it an early night so I can so I can maximize my work efficiency tomorrow… I’m going on another brewery tour tomorrow (which I really don’t have time for, but hey) so I need to get as much done in the AM as possible.

Dinner tonight was leftover Nutty Vanilla Sweet Potato + Kale Soup.  I forgot to garnish it with coconut and peanuts, but I used a LOT of salt, pepper, and chili flakes.

img_6402

I ate it with a Flatout Healthy Grain Honey Wheat wrap.  I tore it into pieces and used it to “scoop” the soup, like a dip… it was fabulous like this.

img_6406


The Flatout website doesn’t have nutritional information for the Honey Wheat flavor, so I got it here.

Nutrition Facts

Calories in FlatOut- Honey Wheat Flat bread
Serving Size: 1 serving

Amount Per Serving
Calories 100.0
Total Fat 2.0 g
Saturated Fat 0.0 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.0 g
Monounsaturated Fat 0.0 g
Cholesterol 0.0 mg
Sodium 280.0 mg
Potassium 0.0 mg
Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
Sugars 3.0 g
Protein 8.0 g

Looks a little like matzo, right?

img_6407

INGREDIENTS: Water, whole wheat flour, oat fiber, vital wheat gluten, honey, roasted soy flour, soybean oil, (contains 2% or less of each of the following): prune juice concentrate, yeast, sodium acid pyrophosphate, baking soda, potassium bicarbonate, preservatives (potassium sorbate, propionic acid, sodium propionate, sorbic acid), fumaric acid, caramel color, wheat flour, cellulose gum, salt, guar gum, calcium sulfate, xantham gum, calcium peroxide, l-cysteine, enzymes, maltodextrin.

Contains: Wheat and soybeans. Processed on equipment that also processes whey (milk).

First, I tried eating it on its own.  I loved how soft and chewy it was.  Then I used it as a scoop, like injera, the Ethiopian bread. The honey taste was subtle, but just sweet enough and complemented my soup wonderfully.  The only complaint I would have (and it’s a stretch) is that if I were to eat it entirely on its own, it might be a little dry. I would definitely buy this product.

This evening I went to the release party for my school’s literary magazine.  My beloved professor (of the Tuesday morning pastries and coffees) read first from her upcoming book (which I will plug like WHOA when it comes out, so consider yourselves warned) then a bunch of students read some of their work.  It was a little sad because a lot of the contributors and most of the litmag’s staff are graduating seniors, so this was our last event 😦  I had a glass of white wine, but came back to get some sleep afterwards.  I’m a party pooper, it’s true.

When I got home, I had the Old Faithful: dates, apricots, prunes & figs with almond butter and dark chocolate.

img_6408

Off to bed! Hope your weekend’s off to a nice start.  Night!

7 responses to “Nutty Leftovers and a Product Review

  1. Jealous of your flatouts! I’ve never seen them around DC or at home in MA.

  2. what a very cool flat out! i must look for these 🙂

  3. What a versatile FlatOut flavor! I can only get Italian Herb here, with an occasional multi-grain, but you could make some yummy desserts with Honey Wheat!

  4. sounds like a fun night!

    I have never tried the Honey Wheat flavor of flat-outs, but so far my favorite has been the italian herb flavor.

    Good luck getting all your work in today!

  5. WHY are there no flat out wraps in new york!?! am i going to have to go on a road trip for these covetted carbs (yes).

    bomb dessert btw. i want!!

  6. yay- you found them! I tried flat-outs for the first time recently and loved them. I microwaved it once rolled with filling and it went really doughy and chewy- delicious 🙂

    Hope you enjoyed the rest of your Friday night!

  7. Old Faithful is looking pretty good right now! Enjoy your brewery tour – I so need one of those after this Chem nonsense!!

Leave a Reply

