Local Brew

Disclaimer: if images of beer make you uneasy, grab a cold one and settle down 😉

This morning I switched up my breakfast a little.  The smoothies have been great, but I don’t want to get sick of them!

I made a semi-standard bowl of oatmeal:

img_6412

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • warmed frozen berries
  • cinnamon
  • nuts (hazelnuts, pecans, walnuts, cashews, 1 Brazil nut)
  • brown sugar

I stopped at Coffee News and picked up a skim latte (+ Sugar in the Raw) on the way to school. It was free! Always remember your punch card…

img_6413

I packed lunch to eat in the library.  Again, semi-standard (I’m getting boring in my old age, sorry about that) salad: romaine, spinach, diced apple, green bell pepper, tomato, fake turkey, hummus, feta, and Annie’s Lite Honey Mustard vinaigrette.

img_6409

Also had some cottage cheese with pumpkin, cinnamon and agave:

img_6410

I wasn’t sure if I was going to exercise today, but I needed a break from work so I ended up in the gym. It just happened, what can I say?

I did 20 minutes on the stairs, 20-ish minutes on the elliptical, arms and mini- abs.

Total time: 1 hour 5 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 187 (94%)

Average heart rate: 145 (73%)

Calories burned: 515

I had to rush my shower because we had a special trip planned by our local home brewing club to Summit Brewery.

summit

Like Surly, Summit is a local brewing company here in Minnesota.

img_6415

Their IPA was one of the first beers I remember buying on tap (after I turned 21, of course).

img_6416

Says their website, “We only brew what we love to drink. Whatever’s leftover, we sell.” The brainchild of St. Paul beer lover Mark Stutrud, Summit Brewing Company was founded with one goal: To bring back the remarkable craft beers once brewed throughout the Upper Midwest.

img_6418

img_6425

img_6426

img_6427

img_6428

img_6429

img_6430

Where’s Charlie Chaplin?

img_6432

img_6434

img_6436

I started off with a Summer Scandia: “Summit Scandia is a Scandinavian interpretation of a famous Belgian ale with spice notes of cardamom, coriander, and orange. Scandia ale pours cloudy with a white head and has a refreshing and pleasing flavor profile.

img_6417

I also had a Pilsener: “With perfect balance and a golden hue, Summit Pilsener blends well with just about everything. Such refreshing flavor is especially adept at bringing good friends together. Thank goodness the Czech Republic decided to share this one.”

img_6419

And finally, Carlye (looking adorable as always 🙂 ) is holding my Red Ale: “Think aroma. Think citrus. Think floral. Think exceptional American hops balanced with choice malts.”

img_6424

I only ended up drinking about 1/4 of the Red, and gave the rest to Joe.

img_6423

Have you ever noticed that chewing gum after beer tastes like root beer? It’s true!

img_6435

It was a really nice time, and great to break up the workday to socialize with friends.  Thanks Summit!

6 responses to “Local Brew

  1. That looks like so much fun! Images of beer don’t make me uneasy. 😉

  2. Neat! I’ve always loved factory tours- it was my favorite part of Mr. Rogers. Except I’m pretty sure they never visited a brewery on Mr. Rogers…

  3. my coffee shop punch card is my lifesaver.

    looks like your day ended up fun after all, despite a lame-o study sesh in the libs. Have a great night!

  4. Looks like you had a great day! Great workout!

  5. It looks like you have a light up crown on in the 2nd to last picture 🙂 Glad you had a blast at the brewery!! Mmmmm beer!

  6. You went for the brazil nut!! Ha! Thata girl! 🙂

    All the beer tasting sounds fun, I never noticed the root beer taste with chewing gum afterwards though!!

    And yum, don’t apologize for the salad….I’ll be making a very identical one once I’m home!

Leave a Reply

