What’s for dinner?

Hola! This is going to be quick… I’m going to bed early and getting up EARLIER so I can get a good night’s sleep and start my day.  Let’s eliminate the procrastination middleman, okay?

This afternoon I had a bit of a headache so I had a cup of black coffee (which tasted very sour) and some ibuprofen during class.

img_6508

My workout today was sub-par, to say the least.  Not only was my Step class the usual 30 minutes instead of 60 as it is every Tuesday, but the gym was out of towels so I had to sacrifice the majority of my strength training so I could go home and shower. Humbug! I hurried three arm machines instead of my usual 5.

Total time: 34:43 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 176 (88%)

Average heart rate: 129 (65%)

Calories burned: 233

Hopefully I’ll be able to make up for this tomorrow… it all depends on if the good stuff’s on TV!

When I home I walked around in my new shoes today.  I have a love/hate relationship with heels… I love how they look but always end up taking them off early in the evening.  These are pretty low, though, so I should be fine.  They’re too big, unfortunately, and although I love the color, I’m going to exchange them for a smaller size and get them in a sky/slate color instead.

img_6511

I snacked on this baby apple while deciding what to have for dinner…

img_6512

Even though I just did a grocery shop last week, nothing has been sounding good lately.  I feel guilty if I don’t eat up my leftovers, but it’s hard to come up with creative ways to eat ingredients you’ve had multiple times in one week.

I finally settled on a black bean burger (note: beans you make from scratch stay fresh a lot longer than beans from a can!)

img_6513

  • 1/3 cup black beans
  • 1 T whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/8 cup diced mushrooms
  • 1 strip thin strip red bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 T Annie’s Woodstock dressing

My burger-flipping skills were behind on their game tonight… there was a lot of crumble action going on.

img_6515

I loaded the burger with extra sharp New York white cheddar, pickles, tomatoes, and onions…

img_6516

… and smushed it on my last Arnold’s Sandwich Thin.

img_6522

I also had half a sweet potato with whipped butter and brown sugar:

img_6517

Last but not least, kale tossed in a sesame oil/rice vinegar/sesame seed/chili flake vinaigrette. So. Good.

img_65201

img_6521

I had a Skinny Cow Vanilla Truffle Bar while catching up on the blogs…

img_6523

… and I’m taking these in to bed with me.

img_6524

FYI, these figs taste like paper on their own.  I need to find my Nutra Figs again!

It’s off to beddy-bye for me. Night!

6 responses to “What’s for dinner?

  1. Don’t worry about the “sub par” workout today, it sounds just fine to me (something is better than nothing first of all), and ALSO you have been working out like a mad woman…wasn’t it 8 days in a row?? Be proud my friend, be proud! 🙂

    I spotted the skinny truffles tonight at safeway, once I get back to a reg sized freezer I WILL be buying them!

  2. i love those heels!

  3. Love the shoes! I too have such a love/hate relationship with heels. I have found that wedges are a nice happy median. haha

  4. at least you made it to the gym…some days are just blah days, so i figure if you get your heart rate up for over 20 minutes youre good to go. hope you are well rested today.

    yum to the dried fruit 🙂

  5. CUTE KICKS!!! I love the color! I hope you got lots and lots of Ambien free sleep last night!!

  6. cute shoes!

    Hope you got some good rest 😉

Leave a Reply

