Going Trayless

Good early evening! How is your humpday going? Mine is going alright… just two Wednesdays to go and the third will be spent in New York!

I took a study break and hit the gym.  I had a pretty good workout: 20 minutes on the stairs, 5 miles on the bike, 10 minutes on the elliptical and abs.

Total time: 1 hour 11 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 164 (82%)

Average heart rate: 141 (71%)

Calories burned: 558

I’ve been having to bring four bags worth of stuff to campus every day, and unfortunately left my makeup in the car.  Although walking the two minutes to my car make-up free was terrifying (so I’m a little vain, sue me), I made it out alive. I ended up just eating lunch in the front seat so I wouldn’t have to keep carrying around my tupperware and a soggy bag… it was kind of nice, actually!

I had a big salad: romaine, chopped apple, tomato, peas, fake turky, hummus, feta, Annie’s light honey mustard dressing.

img_6525

I also had a bowl of yogurt with pumpkin, 1/2 banana, honey and cinnamon.  Unfortunately it exploded a little, and the sad little paper bag I’ve been carrying my lunch in for the last week has finally been tossed.

img_6526

I took a little nap and woke up very hungry, so I made a small bowl of Fiber One Honey Clusters and Kashi GoLean! Crunch Honey Almond Flax with skim milk.

img_6535

It’s rainy here today, but I just noticed that even in gray old Minnesota, the blossoms are starting to bloom.

img_6532

Spring has sprung!

img_6533

In other news that has nothing to do with weather (well, depending on how you look at it!), my school, along with an increasing number of colleges across the country, is starting to phase out their tray usage in the cafeteria.

img_6534

Without trays, kitchens save thousands of gallons of water per year that they would have needed to use to wash them.  Studies have also found that students without the option of piling their trays high with food, they eat less,  saving both calories and wasted food.  “Trayless Tuesdays” have been greeted with mixed reactions at my school; some people are irritated at having to carry more items or make more trips to the salad bar, but the general response seems to be favorable and there’s talk about getting rid of the trays altogether.

Back to the grind. We’re having pizza in class tonight so I’ll probably bring a salad or something to round out the meal… have a great evening 🙂

Giveaway alerts! Prana bars, salsa and Glee gum!

6 responses to “Going Trayless

  1. we’ve been doing trayless experiments at AU too… gotta love bon appetit. some people have been putting up a big stink about it, but i’m all for it.

  2. I never really realized how expensive trays were – save the water!!

    Two Wednesday left!! Hooray!

  3. going trayless sounds like a good idea.

  4. no trays, v. smart…i like it (hippie approved) 🙂

  5. Love your salad! Pretty Spring blossoms!

  6. Going trayless sounds like a great idea! I could see how it could be annoying if you have something like soup, but overall I think it would work fine.

    Yay for spring! After all the snow you had over the winter, I’m sure you are welcoming it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

