She said she'd like to meet a boy who looks like Elvis

For some reason I keep having flashbacks to six years ago, around this time in 10th grade. I’d just gotten back from spring break in St. Martin with my friend Alex and was obsessed with Counting Crows and Ben Kweller. I think it has something to do with the weather… certain smells that just bring you back to a time and place. Yesterday, for example, it smelled just like it used to in the mornings at my summer camp in Maine when after it had just rained. Anyway, sorry about not posting last night. The days have gotten to be a little rougher, even though they’re winding down, so I’ll waste no more time and backtrack to yesterday.

Yesterday I packed a big salad with spinach, green pepper, zucchini, and apple. If you’re wondering if this is getting boring, the answer is a big, Veggie Girl-approved HELL YES. I topped it with a packet of salmon, a Laughing Cow and Honey Mustard dressing to try to mix things up, but there’s really no tricking your palate.

img_6548

For dessert, I had cottage cheese with pumpkin, cinnamon, raisins, and NUTrition Energy mix.

img_6552

I had 1/4 of a Clif MOJO Peanut Butter Pretzel bar (yummy!) before Step:

img_6553

Step was great, but my HRM is in the car so I’m going to leave you guessing about the stats.

I had dinner in the cafeteria with greg: refried beans, ground tofu, rice, peppers, salsa, hot sauce, and cheese, all mixed up. (This is the pretty version that won’t make you gag.)

img_6554

For some reason they were serving the most AMAZING chocolate marzipan biscotti, which I dipped in my coffee.

img_6555

img_6557

They didn’t have any more biscotti (which I’d planned on taking home) so, even though I was completely full, I had 1/2 magic bar instead.

img_6560

I have a LOT to do this morning so I got up early and made this big bowl of fruit and nut oatmeal:

img_6562

  • 1/4 cup 10 grain hot cereal
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 dried figs
  • 1/2 banana
  • mixed berries, warmed
  • 1 sliced canned peach
  • cinnamon
  • mixed nuts
  • brown sugar

I was going to mix milk into the bowl, but I really like the texture of the 10 grain. It gets so thick, like a pudding!

img_6563

Well, time to start the work. Hope you have a great Friday!

Around the food blogosphere: Head over to Gena’s blog for a chance to win a raw spiralizer! It’s time to play in the kitchen… Check out Food2, a new foodie network! And, finally (edited to add), check out Kristin’s blogiversary giveaway. She’s giving away Larabars, FIGS, a Kashi entrée…

2 responses to “She said she'd like to meet a boy who looks like Elvis

  1. Yum! The fruit and nut oatmeal is my kinda thing.

    Good luck with the work!

  2. They say that smells are the number one trigger of memories! (I am wasted but I’m ready!)

    Marzipan biscotti!? I need to make that stat! Happy Friday 😀

Leave a Reply

