Super-Charge Me!

Afternoon! Well, it’s evening now, but when I started first trying to post this it was 3.  The internet has been pretty funky for the past week… how’s a girl supposed to surf Shopbop do important research?

I had a couple of things to pick up at Target today, but for once I actually stuck to the items on my list.  They usually have samples on the weekend, so my timing was ideal! I got a little slice of cheese quesadilla with salsa.

img_65861

It tasted so good and quenched my shopping stress-induced hunger.  I hadn’t been planning on having one for lunch today, but what with my new hummus purchase…

img_65871

Crack wrap it was! I saw that K used American cheese yesterday so I tried it out.  Not quite as good as the cheddar, but still pretty darn delicious.

img_65911

I had it with an orange…

img_65941

… and a small Green(ish) Monster to get some veggies in.

img_65931

Green(ish) monster:

  • 1 cup kale
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1 diced apple, warmed
  • 1 tsp flax meal
  • 2 ice cubes

Then the baking bug hit.  Ever since middle school, baking has been my favorite form of procrastination.  I’d been planning on using my brown bananas to make bread, and today was as good a day as any.

img_65951

Veganomicon‘s Lower Fat Banana bread, Lilveggiepatch-style

  • 2 mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup NSA wild berry applesauce
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup nuts (I used walnuts and pecans), chopped
  • optional: more nuts (I used hazelnuts) for garnish

Preheat oven to 350 and coat a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray.

Mash bananas very well and mix in applesauce, sugar, oil and agave nectar.  Gradually stir in flours, spices, baking soda and salt.  Stir in nuts.

img_65961

Garnish with nuts and bake for 35-45 minutes, or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

img_6599

Enjoy the fruits of your labor with butter and jam (not pictured, but I used Stonewall Kitchen’s Wild Maine Blueberry)

img_6600

I also finally, after over a year of lusting after them every time they appeared on a new food blog, made Dreena’s Super-Charge Me Cookies.  Sarah (happy birthday!) posted the link to the famous recipe the other day, which just about made my week.  Sad but true!

(If I were staying longer than two more weeks I’d invest in some steel wool to get those burn marks off my cookie sheet, but…)

img_6601

Of course I had to taste one (délicieux).  I’ve been playing the  let’s-see-how-many-times-I-can-do-the-dishes-in-one-day game… I’m  up to four.

img_6602

The cookies went into my salad tupperware… you can see where my priorities are.

img_6603

Unfortunately I used up the last of the almond butter 😦

img_65981

There’s really no point in buying a new jar for the next two weeks, but I don’t know that peanut butter will be quite the same on my dates and figs.

Anyway, time to get to work.  Hope your Saturday is going wonderfully and you’re doing something fun tonight!

11 responses to “Super-Charge Me!

  1. that looks like SABRA to me!!! my favorite! and i never use multiple exclamation points, so that just goes to show how much i like it.

  2. i love your baking craze! 🙂

  3. Love the baked goods!

  4. too many yummy things in one post!

    thanks for the bbread recipe. that’s my fav. thing EVER.

    and the cookies sound wonderful!!!

    have a great rest of your weekend love bug!

  5. Good for you for sticking with your shopping list at Target! I swear I always come out of there with at least one thing that was not on the list! Devil store 😉 GREAT baking! I want some of that bread- asap

  6. Thanks for the birthday shouts! I know, Dreena posting that recipe almost had me doing cartwheels, and I didn’t care that I was just about to have surgery, I was making them! There is only one lonely cookie left. It might have to reproduce.

  7. I wish I had the baking bug! I really do want to get better at making goodies – that will be my project once I graduate 😉 The banana bread and super-charge me cookies look amazing, girly!

    Is that Sabra’s garlic hummus I spy? That is definitely one of my favorites. And I need to make Sarah’s crack wrap a top priority in the next week. Those look so freakin’ good!

    Have a lovely Sunday!

  8. YAY crack wrap!! Your Target gives out samples?! Gosh my Target makes me feel like I’m in a foreign country (seriously, they announce things in Espanol!)

    I am loving the baking!! They look fantastico!

  9. Haha – that’s what my cookie sheet likes like too.

    No more almond butter – oh no! At least you scraped the jar all clean. Good job. 🙂

    Your banana bread and cookies look delicious. Did you ever get any studying done?

  10. Pingback: Naughty Nellie « Lilveggiepatch

  11. Pingback: Don’t smell the green « Lilveggiepatch

Leave a Reply

