Boom boom POW!

For some reason, it’s always the songs I don’t really like that end up getting stuck in my head for days on end, to the point where I end up wanting them to come on the radio. Exhibit A: every song by the Black Eyed Peas.

This morning was pretty productive… I churned out a short paper (after tomorrow’s class I am done with French class FOREVER) and had a killer workout at the gym.

While making lunch, I was snacking so much that I finally just had some Tofurkey so there would be some lunch left to eat.

img_6639

At the gym, I did 20 minutes on the Stairmaster, 35 minutes (6.5 miles) on the bike, and 1/2 mile on the treadmill. It’s been three or four weeks since I’ve run, and honestly I’ve been a little scared of doing it recently because I’m worried I’ll go back to hating it. The five minutes were effective: I can still do it, and I got to see the end of Boyz n the Hood 😉 I also did arms/back and abs.

Total time: 1 hour 32 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 178 (89%)

Average heart rate: 132 (66%)

Calories burned: 652

I brought a big salad of romaine, zucchini, tomatoes, green bell pepper, hummus, feta, and a Morningstar Farms Grillers Vegan burger that I heated up in the gym microwave. I brought Annie’s Lite Honey Mustard Vinaigrette (surprise!) but the hummus got all mixed through in transit so I only ended up using a little for the last bit.

img_6638

Before I left the house, I microwaved a diced apple with cinnamon and mixed it into nonfat plain yogurt with a little honey. Delish, even if it wasn’t warm.

img_6642

My friend was working at the front desk at the gym and gave me one of these Persian rolled cookies.  It’s made with cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, and other spices… pretty darn tasty.

img_6643

I was so full from lunch (which was only a little over an hour ago!) but I think I’m going to have a Super-Charge Me cookie or something.  We’ll see!

Hope you’re enjoying the last of your weekend 🙂

8 responses to “Boom boom POW!

  1. Those rolled cookies look interesting! I’ve never seen anything like that before! Congrats on being done with French!!

  2. i think their songs (boom boom pow) are so repetitive that they get stuck in one’s head. hmm. now i keep repeating boom boom pow.. thanks a lot! 🙂

  3. I generally hate all Black Eyed Peas songs, but I like Boom Boom Pow. Shoot me! 😉

    I love everything in this post – Boyz n the Hood, yummy salads, apples & cinnamon, and Persian food!

  4. homegirlcaneat

    I love Annie’s honey mustard dressing..so good! Those rolled cookies look delish..I love spice cookies!

  5. i reallllly want to make those super-charge me cookies… they’re first on my list for when i get home!

  6. Your gym has a MICROWAVE??

    I hate that song… but can’t deny that it’s incredibly catchy. Those are the worst of all!! 😉

  7. breadandwithit

    Get the Persian cookie recipe for us if you can. Is your friend Iranian? H/she might have a treasure chest full of family recipes that we could try out…..

  8. Give it up! I kinda like that song – unless it’s stuck in my head!
    How is your gorgeous back developing?

Leave a Reply

