Naughty Nellie

Good morning! Another night of wrestling with WordPress (has anyone else been having issues with it recently?) has caused this to be a dinner/breakfast post.  Oh well, I’m just glad it’s working now!

You’re all going to think I’m completely gross and crazy, but I had some of this last night.

img_6607

The day after Passover, when my friends would all complain about having to eat the gefilte fish, I would heartily  agree but secretly really like it.  My grandmother sent me home with a jar that she “forgot” to serve at our seder (I’m the only one who wanted it) so I decided to have it last night.

The smell was really off-putting and a lot stronger than I remembered.  I tried to remedy this by serving a piece on a bed of romaine with red bell pepper, drowning the fish in rice wine vinegar, and serving the whole thing in a vinegar/sesame oil/sesame seed/chili flake dressing.  Oh, and LOTS of German mustard. Seriously, I probably used half of the bottle .

img_6611

I also had some leftover Inca or Aztec Corn Soup, which I served cold but with a lot of hot sauce.

img_6612

img_6613

My grandmother introduced me to Gelati-Da gelato a few weeks ago, and I snatched it up when I saw it at Target yesterday.

img_6624

The cioccolata flavor is incredibly rich and creamy, considering it only has 2.5 g of fat.  I had a bowl with warmed frozen berries and dark chocolate hot fudge.

img_6628

I was still feeling snacky, so I had a Super-Charge Me cookie.

img_6629

Yes, that made two cookies, one piece of banana bread, and fudge-covered ice cream in one day.  But that’s okay! Today is a brand new day.

I started off with a small date shake:

img_6630

  • 1/4 block silken tofu
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 2 dried dates, chopped
  • 2 ice cubes
  • pinch nutmeg
  • squirt honey

Za-zing! (For some reason all my photos have a bluish hue this morning.)

img_6632

I also had a slice of banana bread with peanut butter and blackberry preserves.

img_6634

And some java! The newspaper is so good this morning… I love Sundays.

img_6636

Well, time to work.  In a little over a week I won’t have to end every post like that…

Have a great Sunday!

6 responses to “Naughty Nellie

  1. newspaper, coffee, best combo ever!

    sorry to say but the gefilte fish crap looks grossssssssssssss

  2. I secretely love gefilte fish too 🙂

    enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  3. i’ve never heard of gefilte fish.. but i totally understand what you mean when you say that you agree that you don’t like something when it’s really delish!

  4. I hate fish, so I’m not a good person to be saying anything about it… especially jarred gefilte fish, because the jel scares the crap out of me. Not in an ED way! Anyway, according to the people around here who DO eat gefilte fish (of the homemade variety ;)), it’s only good if you top it with beets+horseradish. Customary! 😉

  5. Your Sunday morning set up is basically perfection! I saw your comment about us in Paris – it WILL happen, my dear, just wait and see 😉

    By the way, WordPress hasn’t been giving me any issues but I use Windows Live Writer so that might be why. I hope it sorts itself out because I don’t’ know what I would do without my Veggie Patch!

  6. I’m going to come out of the closet as a fellow gefilte fish lover. Especially with horseradish! My mom used to pack it for me in preschool (at my request). Thank god I went to a Jewish preschool or I would have never had friends!!

    Logically..i know it’s gross..but my tastebuds can’t be persuaded!!

Leave a Reply

