Sunshine cleaning

Good evening and happy belated Monday! I’m still having so much trouble with both WordPress and Firefox… I don’t know if it’s those programs, my connection, or my computer (which it better not be). Anyway, I’ve got a full day of foodstuffs and a product review, so I’m going to get a-crackin’!

This morning I made a big POM/orange/berry/ginger smoothie.

img_6656

  • 1/4 block silken tofu
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup POM juice
  • 1/4 cup frozen berries
  • 1 orange
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger powder

img_6658

I love this combination. I think it’s my third time making it in a week! I also had two big cups of coffee

img_6659

Lunch was a-MA-zing. I made a crack wrap with manchego and American… holy moly. 

img_6660

I finished up the last of Happy Herbivore‘s Inca or Aztec Corn Soup:

img_6662

Had an apple:

img_6661

And enjoyed it all with Cholula. (Hummus + hot sauce = mmm.)

img_6663

My French professor brought organic oatmeal raisin cookies (I remembered my camera this time!). It’s funny that I used to think that any cookie without chocolate wasn’t worth having… I guess you could say that my palate is maturing!

img_6665

I had a quick workout at the gym: 25-ish minutes on the elliptical and abs.

Total time: 38:55 minutes

Maximum heart rate: 176 (88%)

Average heart rate: 143 (72%)

Calories burned: 310

The post title refers to the gorgeous day we had.  I didn’t have to haul too much to campus today so I got to walk, and it was so warm! I love sundress weather. 

I try to save my frozen dinners  for nights when I have class at 7, so I whipped out Healthy Choice‘s Lemon Pepper Fish Complete Meal. 

img_6666

Have you noticed that almost every frozen dinner company makes a version of this? And yet, when it comes to the “vegetarian option,” with the exception of Kashi,they all seem to think this means “pasta.”  This is often a problem at restaurants and catered events, too. Grr.

img_6667

I forgot to take a pre-microwave picture, but here it after cooking.

img_6672

I always plate my frozen dinners to make them a little less depressing.

img_6673

Breaded fish and rice pilaf:

img_6674

Broccoli

img_6676

Caramel Apple Crisp:

img_6675

Those weren’t enough veggies for my hungry tummy, so I steamed up some rebel carrots (and drank the water). 

img_6679

 

img_6680

A few weeks ago I blogged about Healthy Choice’s reinvention of its products. Although I’m skeptical of any packaged food that claims to be a full meal, I decided to give this one a try.  I’ll review each of the four components of the dinner:

Fish (pollock): very fishy, as cheap fish often is. It was mush and overcooked, and the breading fell off as soon as I cut into it. 

Rice: mushy and overcooked, but not chewy and tender at all. 

Broccoli: definitely the best part.  It was crisp and perfectly cooked, although it was sitting in a LOT of water.

Caramel apple crisp:  Completely inedible.  It was sweet and gelatinous, and the oat topping was mushy.  There was nothing “crisp” about this dessert whatsoever, and I threw it out after one bite. 

Would I buy this again? Not a chance. Healthy Choice struck out big time with this one, and did not succeed in changing my perception of their product from the microwaved dinner my grandfather used to stockpile in his freezer  to a healthy, quick and tasty option that I would ever want to consume.  I know I’m being harsh, but I’ve come to expect a lot from these frozen meals.  I know it’s possible to make cost-effective food that tastes good; you should be able to feel happy and satisfied with your meal even if it came out of a box in the freezer.  This is 2009, people. 

Whew! Excuse that little rant.

My dinner fiasco left me feeling unsatisfied, so I had a grapefruit during class. 

img_6681

I was really hungry when I got home from class (sayonara, science requirement!) so I made a big bowl of GoLean! Crunch Honey Almond Flax / Fiber One Honey Almond Clusters with an apple and skim

img_6685

I’m still feeling snacky so there might be some cookie-eating going on shortly (to fuel my studies, of course).  I have to be up pretty early for my last independent study meeting; we’re going to a coffee shop near the house I lived in last year which should be fun.

Hope you had a great day! Night 🙂

Edited to add: I just had some more cereal.  It was what I wanted, so why deny myself, right? 😉

6 responses to “Sunshine cleaning

  1. What a crappy dinner. You should have just done the crack wrap x 2. That was a thing of beauty.

    I got your package tonight! Thank you so much!!! I will gush appropriately in my post 😉

  2. dude, that sucks about that frozen meal. ive def noticed what you mentioned as far as catering’s typical vegetarian options. im in the process of choosing our wedding menu and its a PAIN because im vegan. so far all the vegetarian options are cheese/cream loaded ravioli or pasta dishes. grrr.

  3. I’ve been having problems with these too!! Booooo.

  4. I need to try a crack wrap!

    I am not a fan of healthy choice meals- Amy’s are the only ones I actually like. The moosewood ones are supposed to be pretty good too!

  5. i love your pretty plates!

  6. Manchego?! I think you’re the first blogger to have crack with manchego and I love it! YUM 🙂

    PS. Don’t deny – eat what you crave! You’ll be much happier living that way 😉

Leave a Reply

