Is there anything I’m going to miss?

I couldn’t find this on YouTube, but it’s worth watching for a trip down memory lane.

It’s one of the first songs I remember seeing on Pop-Up Video. Whatever happened to that show? It was so good! I also remember seeing Marcy Playground and Meredith Brooks on there… oh, I hate getting old.

Anyway, happy Friday night! A week from today my family will be here (!) so this is pretty much my last “real” Friday in college.  Appropriately, this will be a doozy of a photo post… I’m going to have to get a space upgrade for my Wordpess account soon!

I went to Whole Foods today and pretty much stuck to my list, which is something to be celebrated.  There were tons of samples:

Trout spread:

IMG_6782

Spicy guacamole (I really wanted an avocado but these were all really hard, so a really nice WF man went “to the back” and found one for me. Thanks, WF man!):

IMG_6783

Spanish cheese:

IMG_6784

Food Should Taste Good chips:

IMG_6785

More cheese:

IMG_6786

I went to the cafeteria for lunch today. The had big soft pretzels; even though these are on every street corner in New York, I never really crave or eat them! Ever since Meghann, Jenna, and Caitlin have been raving about their Greenwise pretzels, though, I’ve been craving them.

IMG_6791

I made a salad with spinach, carrots, cukes, cauliflower, celery, and a jalepeño.  They had dijon (my favorite mustard) for the pretzels, so I made a delicious mustard/lemon juice/olive oil vinaigrette.

IMG_6788

Tofu cutlet with “salsa verde” :

IMG_6790

I ate about 2/3 of the pretzel; half with mustard and half with peanut butter and jelly.

IMG_6794

… and finally, a grapefruit.

IMG_6798

I first read about black bean brownies in Hungry-Girl a few years ago. After seeing Angela’s batches a few weeks ago and Lindsay’s yesterday, I decided to try them myself.

IMG_6800

I used the Happy Herbivore recipe, and followed her directions with the exception of swapping brown rice syrup for agave nectar.

IMG_6799

I also, once again, didn’t read the directions properly and forgot to mix in the oats until the batter was already in the pan.

IMG_6805
The batter was really good, but when baked the brownies themselves didn’t have a whole lot of taste and were kind of dry. Sad, but I’m not giving up yet!

I snacked on an orange while I was eating batter baking and cooking.

IMG_6806

My friends Becky and Sarah had a lovely potluck tonight.  I brought the “brownies” and some cheesy green (read on).

IMG_6821

There was red vino:

IMG_6822

Spinach salad with strawberries, cucumbers and gorgonzola:

IMG_6823

I made a plate with a Barefoot Contessa pasta salad Becky made, salad, oranges and quiche.

IMG_6825

Gina has been raving about quiche recently, so I decided to whip one up.  I used the same original recipe that she did, but also made my own substitutions.  For the cheese and dairy, I used 1/2 cup manchego, 3/4 cup nonfat cottage cheese, 1 cup nonfat yogurt, and 2 tbsp 4-cheese blend; for the spices, pinches each of nutmeg, cumin and cayenne.  The color was a little too light, so I added 1/2-1 cup broccoli florets to the mix.

IMG_6826

It was really good! It ended up tasting more like a soufflé; whipped and very light and an excellent side.

I also had a bowl of black bean soup with cheese that Sarah made:

IMG_6828

More oranges, salad, and chips (potato + yellow corn) and salsa.

IMG_6830

For dessert, I had a frosted pumpkin square my friend Krista made:

IMG_6832

She’s writing a cookbook called “The Book of Nom.” Genius. Nomnomnom.

IMG_6833

Finally, even though I was insanely full, I had a dark chocolate truffle that Carlye brought.

IMG_6835

I definitely ate a lot tonight and didn’t make it to the gym as I’d planned, but I had a really nice night with my friends. There is so much love in sharing a home-cooked meal!  Anyway, I’m going to hit the hay and get up early to work, work it out, pack, etc.  Hope you had a faaabulous night.

8 responses to “Is there anything I’m going to miss?

  1. I’m glad you had such a fun evening with friends! I love 3rd Eye Blind and still listen to that cd. Enjoy your weekend, Katie!

  2. HAHA that tofu cutlet looks soo good!

    in fact, too many good things in this post!!! yay for friend time!!!

    and i agree with Sarah, I ADORED Third eye blind and still rock out to them

    HAPPY WEEKEND LOVER BOOOOOO

  3. Potlucks are so much fun! Those pumpkin bars look killer.

  4. Pretzel and PBJ? I LIKE!! Third Eye Blind was my jam back in the day – I still love Jumper!

    What a fun potluck!! You all sound like fantastic cooks!

  5. Glad you had fun with your friends, all of the deserts look sooo good!

    I totally remember Marcy’s playground being on pop up video. They need to bring that show back ASAP!

  6. pretzel, PB and J = genuis idea! Need to try that! Have you tried the frozen stuffed pretzels they sell in WF? The apple cinnamon ones look awesome. Speaking of WF, I never saw free samples except for stale bread crumbs 😦

    enjoy your weekend!

  7. i’m glad you had a really fun time 🙂

  8. mmmm third eye blind CANT FREAKING WAIT. I think everyone in my house is ready to kill me because i’m pretty much blasting their songs on repeat nonstop, it’s great.

    I love potlucks, they’re so much fun. And WF samples are the best, is it bad that sometimes I go, have a bunch of samples, and then leave without buying anything. Haha

Leave a Reply

